We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros & cons”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Pros: Clean; very comfortable; affordable; friendly.

Cons: Squeaky floors & paper thin walls - heard conversations all around and every footstep above & around me; shower only, no tub - reminded me of the cramped showers on a cruise; pocket door to tiny bathroom squeaked every time it moved; light for the bathroom was on the far wall, so you had to turn it on first or close the bathroom door in the dark before turning it on - inconvenient for others trying to sleep.

It wasn't bad for a single night, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

This was my first stay at a "Choice Hotel" (the chain). It is very new looking, inside and out (front desk told me it was recently remodeled). Room is clean, neat, functional. Kind of a different layout, but just fine. I like the price/value enough I will be looking for other "Choice Hotels" in the future.

I must add: the young man at the front desk was one of the most friendly, helpful and engaged staff member I have encountered on this 11-day road trip; he even spoke well of the owner. Nothing to say you would encounter him, but I think that desk staff talking up the owner seemed like a good sign to me.

Heads up: both Mapquest and my Garmin Nuvi GPS get the directions wrong. If you get off I80 and are heading east on Hickman Road, and your GPS says make a U-turn at 111th street, DO NOT. Turn North (left) up 111th street, then drive through the restaurant parking lot to get to the Sleep Inn. If you are heading west on Hickman Road, be sure to turn North (right) on 111th street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeldiKlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very nice rooms. Great landscaping. Very clean. And it's next to the Iowa Machine Shed, the # 1 restaurant in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OpaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Nice large, clean room. We were right by the pool but we heard no noise at all - nice & quiet. We slept comfortably. Breakfast was fine. Overall, our major "hotel needs" were met. However, we did miss the little niceities that we have come to expect from a $100.++ per night hotel room, i.e., shamoo, thicker towels, lap desk (so my husband & I would both have a surface to work on), armchair (my husband spends half the night sleeping in a chair). Although, I did find out later that armchairs are available in the King Rooms just not in the Double Queen like we had.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShirlM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a nice motel located with easy access to the interstate. The room was clean, comfortable and provided everything a person needs for an overnight stay. Breakfast was typical for this chain with hot and cold items. Rooms were quite. Would definitely stay at this motel again if I was passing through or staying in the Des Moines area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.1 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
164 reviews
1.5 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
283 reviews
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
1.6 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
616 reviews
5.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 11211 Hickman Rd, Urbandale, IA 50322-3757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range: ₹ 6,617 - ₹ 8,109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Urbandale
Sleep Inn Urbandale
Urbandale Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing