We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The luxury of silence”
Review of Fringe Ford

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wayanad District
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fringe Ford
Reviewed 12 April 2017

If you want a truly unique place to stay, Fringe Ford is your answer. We spent five magical nights here in late February. Located 5km off the main road, this remote setting overlooks jungle, forest and the distant Western Ghat mountain peaks. Our incredibly knowledgeable jungle guide, Shaji, took us on spectacular morning and evening walks. Our discoveries of a fresh leopard cub paw mark, a trashed honey bee hive or a samba deer shouting a danger warning were always exciting, exhilarating and at times a bit dangerous.
As we are both in our early 70’s, we were happy to do relatively flat walks, but Shaji also suggested more testing adventures were available. We learned to listen, look and learn about animal and bird life in a wifi-free setting. The Chef and assistants created three tasty and filling meals each day in an enchanting outdoor covered dining area.
The accommodations were originally built about 50 years ago and have stood the test of time. We stayed in room one – The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. An unforgettable experience – our hosts, the jungle and the silence.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank squeesh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Fringe Ford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife were here for two nights and we drove down from Bangalore. The property is close to the town of Manathwadi and the drive from Bangalore shouldn't take more than 6 hours. We reached around lunch time and met Mr. Anil, the manager who took us in a jeep till the cabins which is roughly 4 kms. The property has 5 rooms in all and is tastefully done with a courtyard/sit out area for each of them. The rooms are spacious and are furnished with antiques and ethnic furniture. Thankfully there is no mobile phone coverage or wifi here which lets you switch off from the world and enjoy your stay. The staff are courteous and accommodate every request you throw at them. The food served is all cooked freshly and is home cooked style. The property itself is huge and is a well preserved forest land, it is inhabited by more than 200 animal species and innumerable plants. You will meet Mr. Shaji who is a passionate Naturalist and will take on trail walks within the property. These walks are the best part of the trip and I highly recommend you don't miss them. You spot so many animals in their natural habitat, unlike a safari you walk here and it is a completely different experience. Start with an open mind and don't expect to see any specific animal and you will be surprised by what all you come across. We happened to to be one of the lucky guests as we spotted a tiger on our first day. Now a tiger sighting is real rare and we were lucky enough to see it for 20 minutes. Apart from that we also saw the Great Indian Hornbill, White belly woodpecker, flying squirrel, malabar squirrel, cat snake, sambar deer to name a few. A piece of advice to guests visiting, try not to trash or leave back plastic on the trails or at the property, it takes great effort to run this place and the least we could do is be responsible guests. Will definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vishwas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

For Fringe Ford,Get Lost is an apt tag line. This is a magical place where no body is going to know where you are. The property is run by a true passionate team lead by the owner Ahmed, a nice person. Shaaji is the main care taker here and his wealth of knowledge about the forest is commendable . The food is simple but very tasty with some authentic Kerala style. Thanks to Mutthu, the main chef. The staff are very humble and attentive.

You can do trekking or just sit and relax listening to the day long bird song with lots of bird variety. But we could not spot any wildlife though we saw some pugmarks.

The rooms are simple and comfortable though a bit of maintenance is required. Enjoyed the stream water and the boiler's hot water.

We will surely return for a more private stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Hornbill room suitable for couples only.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank trirudranetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Words will fall short if I have to explain this place. Covered by thick forest all the sides and the clouds running past my room was the sight that you will not get everyday. Fresh dew drops on the grass outside the room was a therapy to the soul. The smell of the mud, the chirps of the birds, the misty mountains aha I can go on and on but its better to experience on your own.

Room Tip: They only have 5 rooms and all are good.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hebbar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights at Fringe Ford and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We were the only guests (they have 4 rooms) and the staff was extremely helpfull. If we wanted to do a hike in the morning, the guide would take us (no extra charge), if we wanted to do nothing, they brought us snacks and in the evening offered to built a camp fire for us.
The hotel (isn't not really a hotel though, more a B&B) overlooks a beautifull valley where occasionally you can see elephants. At night the view is staggering as well as there are no other lights around, so you can see the stars beautifully.
But the real star of the show was the guide during our hikes, forgot his name :-(, he was extremely knowledgeable and could tell stories about every animal, plant, tree, etc. We were hoping to see elephants but unfortunately we didn't. We did hear tigers (a mother and a cub apparently), saw a lot of monkeys, wild dogs (no street dogs, more related to wolfs), flying squirrels and a lot more.
Really a extraordinary place.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Jochem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wayanad District hotels
25.7 km away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 3 in Kenichira
411 reviews
33.7 km away
Greenex Farms
Greenex Farms
#2 of 81 in Kalpetta
262 reviews
19.5 km away
Banasura Hill Resort
Banasura Hill Resort
#1 of 1 in Vellamunda
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Pepper Green Village
Pepper Green Village
#5 of 81 in Kalpetta
243 reviews
12.4 km away
Pugmarks Jungle Lodge
Pugmarks Jungle Lodge
#3 of 14 in Mananthavady
122 reviews
32.7 km away
Marmalade Springs
Marmalade Springs
#4 of 81 in Kalpetta
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fringe Ford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fringe Ford

Address: Cherrakara P.O Tahlapoya Post, | Mananthavadi, 670644, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Wayanad District
Price Range: ₹ 75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled into a cosy valley, high up in the hills, with the grand old forest peaks towering paternally around it. Fringe Ford is as cut off from the world as you can get. It probably doesn't feature on a map, has no traffic fumes, no traffic, not even a road, and is thankfully ignored by the cell phone towers. What is does have however, is a fabulous, authentic experience of living in the middle of a remote plantation surrounded by forest, some great treks, silver silence punctuated only by the occasional warning calls of birds or monkeys when a carnivore comes visiting. And it offers you the best peace you've had on vacation anywhere anytime. There is a 360 view of the remote plantation surrounded by forest; all looking identical, but each with its own tale. The balding Namboodri peaks, named after the estate's ex-accountant, the range of hills that rises almost perpendicular at the back of the house, which once climbed, leads one on to Coorg, the peak out there, with the watch tower, which was built one day, and demolished that night by wild elephants. Fringe Ford was named by the Englishman who had first bought the land and built it into a plantation. It changed hands since then, and was finally acquired by its present landlord, Ahmed, who being a naturalist, let the land remain as plantation but adhering to strict eco friendly practices. In fact, the 520-acre property shares its boundaries, not fences with the wildlife sanctuaries of Wyanad and Tholpaty reserve forest, making this entire stretch, one of the last remaining bastions of the Malabar rain forests around, with shelter for its fauna and flora. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing