We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind , trekkers delight”
Review of Fringe Ford

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wayanad District
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fringe Ford
Reviewed 5 February 2016

This is a 550 acre property that the owner has let nature take over. That is remarkable, as it used to be a working cardamom and coffee plantation, and would be worth crores in annual profits if worked upon. The fact that the owner has decided to let it revert to nature is truly admirable.

The place is small, with 5 rooms and 5 staff members. It is enveloped by the jungle on all sides. The place is between Tholpetty , Aralam and Brahmagiri wildlife sanctuaries, and is used regularly as a transit zone by wildlife. I saw a camera trap picture of a tiger taken on 18th Jan at 430 am, at a path barely 10 min from the cottage ! Other folks have seen Gaur & Elephant right on the cottage grounds. The place thrives with bio-diversity. There are Nilgiri Langur, Lion-tailed Macaque , Malabar Giant Squirrel and three species of deer. Many rare birds like Malabar Trogon , Black Eagle , Asian Fairy Blue Bird, Blue-capped Rock Thrush , Indian Nightjar. Other fauna like Malabar Gliding Frogs, King Cobras and many species of butterflies. This is as good as any jungle in terms of sightings. Photography will be tricky due to the distances , and light.
Shaji is a great guide with very good knowledge of the area and it's fauna. There are a lot of treks one can go on , of varying difficulty levels.
The rooms are sparsely furnished and a bit cramped, but very clean. The bathrooms are spotless and well equipped. This is a place , where you need to be outdoors and the rooms are just for sleeping.
The sitout area is very nice with some hammocks under a mango tree and a small bon fire area
Food is excellent local malayali cuisinne. I particularly loved the appam and veg stew, puttu and gram curry served for breakfast. They also serve excellent banana bhajjis at evening tea time.
The drive after Thalapoya is a bit tricky, I have a duster , and the last 4 KM took it's toll. My bumper guard fell off :-(. Ideally park at the village before the property and come up in their Jeep. The last 4-5 KM is pure offroad on a narrow path on the side of a steep hill. Do it by yourself , only if you have high ground clearance and excellent control over your car !

Fringe Ford is one of a kind, the staff is fiercely determined to keep it nature friendly. They discourage plastic , loud music and parties. Go if you love immersing yourself in nature, and you will love it

Room Tip: Rooms in the main bungalow have higher ceilings, the outhouse where we stayed has 2 rooms, which can...
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dipayan_Chakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Fringe Ford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2016

In Jan'16 I visited Fringe Ford with my family. My daughter and wife felt that it is wonderful place amidst wild life. It is perfect place for a real vacation, completely separated from normal civilization because no TV, no cell phones no residential nearby. Even without TV and cell phone it was a pleasant stay. The cottage was comfortable and cosy. The hot water was available 24/7.From inside cottage one could have good scenery of forest and mountains. Just outside the cottage there was hammock and easy chairs for relaxation. Tea and snacks are served there. One can enjoy the snacks and nature while relaxing. The food was simple and tasty. All the meals and snacks were served in time. Walking around fringe ford one can site wild animals. We spotted two spotted deer. Trekking with Saji is an wonderful experience. From the scent of the animal he can identify which animal it is. The trekking to twin towers is a good workout and nice climb. Trekking to waterfalls is not much of a climb but it is more like walk in the forest. One take nice bath in the water fall in the chilled water. During rainy season say June, July, August, September the forest is with full of leeches. No leech trouble during non-rainy seasons. Over all the wellness of the guests are taken care by the Fringe Ford people.

Room Tip: one facing the forest
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amirthavkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Amazing local tracker who knows every corner of the jungle. one of the most serene and beautiful locations. Brilliant view! The trekking trips from around the resort into the jungle make for a lifetime memory.

Room Tip: Choose the ones that face the valley
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

The lesser reviews you read about this place, the better it is - you don't want to spoil the surprise that awaits you. Fringe Ford had an air of mystery about it from the moment that you are picked up at Thalapoya by the manager Anil. After about 20 mins of an exhilarating drive on a dirt road through forested hills, you land up at Fringe Ford. Pretty as a picture, nestled among rolling green hills, with the sound of birds and gushing streams to keep you company, this place has all the ingredients for a perfect getaway.
Shaji who plays the role of the caretaker, naturalist and guide all at once, takes great care and will keep you entertained with stories of encounters with the vibrant wildlife.
Be sure to go on a trek with shaji!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank richasarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

When I searched in the google Map for a real place away from civilization (i.e. away from human habitat) I finally landed with many resorts. Then carefully going through trip advisor review I landed in Fringe Ford (not even a single bad comment).
It is a 500 acres property owned by Mr.Ahmed, a wild life enthusiast. To avoid human animal conflict he stopped cultivating the crop and allowed wild animals to roam around his property. He only uses a small portions of the property i.e. Fringe Ford with five rooms.
Inside the property I went for a trekking with “Steve Irvin “of Fringe Ford Mr.Saji.He knows in and out of wild forest. He smells animals identify birds, butterfly, snakes and scorpion which we cannot. He can interpret the sounds of the forest. He informed me there is snake but I could not spot it because it was camouflaged. I spotted it only when the snake moves.
On the trekking to the twin towers of Fringe Ford (Highest point in Fringe Ford) we were lucky enough to see a male Sambar deer(video attached) with its two kids grazing it was a marvellous sight. Upon reaching the top in the meadow we saw six elephants (two tuskers and a calf) feeding the grass at a distance of 100 feet (video attached). It was an amazing moment in my life. After a while Saji whispered that the elephants already smelt us soon it will move away from us and they did. Besides Bison’s are a common site around Fringe Ford. The plane which is ten feet below Fringe Ford is a common resting place for bison.
There are many streams and water falls inside the property but they say we can use two falls for taking bath. On the way to the falls the second trek we spotted a barking deer, wild scorpion, Malabar giant squirrels and monkeys.
The sleep quality is very good.I slept like a dead man.I did not know where I was till Mr.Saji woke me up to go for trekking around 6.30 AM.
The food at the Fringe Ford is stomach friendly and of good quality & quantity.Mr.Muthuawamy is the cook. Evening after the trek they serve onion pakoda one day and banana bajji the other day.
Mr.Anil Kumar is the friendly manager who can help in the pickups and drops from and to Thalapoya. As the roads from Thalapoya to the Fringe Ford is not good for small cars Mr.Anil can arrange for a safe parking area for your vehicle in Thalapoya (nearest village).
Check in time is 12.00 noon, Check out time is 11.00AM
In the Fringe Ford I have learnt that wild life watching is enjoyable by watching them at a distance and silently. If you are a person who wants to enjoy silence (apart from birds singing and animal scream) then Fringe Ford is the best place to spend your vacation.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank amirthavkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wayanad District hotels
25.4 km away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
854 reviews
25.7 km away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 3 in Kenichira
411 reviews
33.7 km away
Greenex Farms
Greenex Farms
#1 of 81 in Kalpetta
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Banasura Hill Resort
Banasura Hill Resort
#1 of 1 in Vellamunda
335 reviews
14.5 km away
Pepper Green Village
Pepper Green Village
#5 of 81 in Kalpetta
244 reviews
12.4 km away
Pugmarks Jungle Lodge
Pugmarks Jungle Lodge
#3 of 14 in Mananthavady
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fringe Ford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fringe Ford

Address: Cherrakara P.O Tahlapoya Post, | Mananthavadi, 670644, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 289 Speciality Lodging in Wayanad District
Price Range: ₹ 75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled into a cosy valley, high up in the hills, with the grand old forest peaks towering paternally around it. Fringe Ford is as cut off from the world as you can get. It probably doesn't feature on a map, has no traffic fumes, no traffic, not even a road, and is thankfully ignored by the cell phone towers. What is does have however, is a fabulous, authentic experience of living in the middle of a remote plantation surrounded by forest, some great treks, silver silence punctuated only by the occasional warning calls of birds or monkeys when a carnivore comes visiting. And it offers you the best peace you've had on vacation anywhere anytime. There is a 360 view of the remote plantation surrounded by forest; all looking identical, but each with its own tale. The balding Namboodri peaks, named after the estate's ex-accountant, the range of hills that rises almost perpendicular at the back of the house, which once climbed, leads one on to Coorg, the peak out there, with the watch tower, which was built one day, and demolished that night by wild elephants. Fringe Ford was named by the Englishman who had first bought the land and built it into a plantation. It changed hands since then, and was finally acquired by its present landlord, Ahmed, who being a naturalist, let the land remain as plantation but adhering to strict eco friendly practices. In fact, the 520-acre property shares its boundaries, not fences with the wildlife sanctuaries of Wyanad and Tholpaty reserve forest, making this entire stretch, one of the last remaining bastions of the Malabar rain forests around, with shelter for its fauna and flora. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing