We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Pryor House B&B provides R&R”
other traveller has booked this property
The Pryor House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pryor House
Bragg Suite Sitting Room Bragg Suite Spa Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Pryor House
Bragg Suite Sitting Room
Bragg Suite Spa Tub
Bragg Suite Bedroom
Nancy's Nook
Nancy's Nook Soaker Tub
Patio
Front Porch
Guests can add a few stitches to our 'Work In Progress'  quilt
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Shelby, Iowa

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara T
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Pryor House B&B provides R&R”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Pryor House B&B was an easy 45 minute drive from the Berkshire Hathaway stockholders' meeting in Omaha, NE. The quiet town of Shelby is surrounded b gently rolling, emerald and black farmland hills. Pat Honeywell, hostess, provided a warm welcome and delicious hot breakfasts. She told an engaging tale of how the historic residence was rescued. Our young grandsons were entertained by toys in the house and a playground in the nearby city park. While most of the adults listened to Buffet and Munger, the kids enjoyed the highly-rated Henry Doorly Zoo in Omaha. Our only regret is that we didn't have time to ride bikes on the trail that goes through Shelby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: comfort and location
Liked least: We liked everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Barb, thanks so much for the lovely review. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

First the owners are amazing. Very friendly and open to helping. I felt like family just walking in. The original wood work and classic style is relaxing. With optional country activities and small town atmosphere, this is a great get away. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thanks so much for the lovely review. Hope to see you again in the future. It's guests like you that make this business fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler5...
Indianola, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We loved the Victorian charm of the beautiful house. Comfortable, affordable and the hostess is superb! Breakfasts are wonderful and varied and plenty to eat, like living on the farm! The prior House is also a great place to stay if you are sightseeing in the Omaha/Council Bluffs, Iowa area. A short commute to the metro area and a wonderful place to return to in the evening and relax. The rooms are cozy and comfortable with T.V. dvd player and a soaking tub to relax along with a shower if you prefer. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How charming and comfortable is is
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. We loved hosting you for your Spring Break. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1982PandB
Jackson, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I travel to Shelby County at least once a year. We always dread trying to find decent accommodations. We are so happy that we found The Pryor House in Shelby. It is a beautiful home and so unique. Our hostess was so pleasant and she provided a lovely breakfast. We got to enjoy our meal on the patio. The garden was so nice. She told us about a walking trail that was just down the street. We took a great walk on a nicely groomed trail. The bed was comfortable. The home was extremely clean, and beautifully decorated. We will be back for sure. We are thrilled that we no longer have to stay in a couple of towns nearby. The hotels aren't that great. Pryor House is a super alternative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TemeculaV...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic B & B in western Iowa”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We happened upon Pryor House in Shelby, Iowa quite by accident - we were trying to avoid the typical interstate hotels - and what a delightful surprise! Located in the quiet of a small town, we had outdoor spaces to enjoy a breakfast of our choice, wifi, movies and books, a great bed, well appointed and spotlessly clean rooms, a full bath, air conditioning and lovely hosts.
What a break from highway travel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, mattress, bathroom, breakfast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing