We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
34
15
12
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
15
12
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub bottled water an iron comfortable bed landlady craig meal saddleworth huddersfield accommodation wedding
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Popped in for lunch. What food they was good, but they had ran out of pies both cheese & onion and chicken, so burger & chips all round. I thought that there was s potatoe famine on because there weren’t that many on the plates. A new chef was blamed for the poor menu choices. As I said the food was good. The website paints a good but un realistic picture. Great location friendly staff

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank PaulM1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The outside is misleading, past the beautiful stone exterior is a run-down 1980’s pub. The people are friendly and the food is acceptable, but the place could do with a bit of a referb and a jolly good clean.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank dcolenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

A quiet pub, but on a main road. We chose a smaller back room but we could hear road noise.

The pub was a traditional with excellent beers, and we had a pleasant hour in the garden.

The room was very clean, good bedding and a great shower. So perfect for an overnight stay.
Dog friendly, and additional benefit - walk across the road and there is a delightful stream and a canal and an assault course, exercise for everyone! It was very peaceful, lots of wildlife.

Thank Amanda-542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Family run, you couldn't ask for a warmer welcome.
However, it you expect the standards portraited by the photos on the website you might be disappointed.
Only one beer on tap, watch out that food isn't served Monday and Tuesday although they did provide something that was on offer for a quiz night.
Breakfast cooked specifically for you. No cereal, yohurt options - but a delicious cooked breakfast.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Just stayed one night as was at a wedding nearby.

Spotlessly clean room, very comfortable with all the usual facilities, tea, coffee etc.

Cracking breakfast ( double everything ) well cooked and flexible timings.

Landlady really helpful, recommended a beautiful walk that meant we didn't even have to use our car.

Didn't have a drink but looks to have a nice range of real ales.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews