We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get past entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Muscatine Iowa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Muscatine
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Pulled into the parking lot and this hotel looked like it was shuttered. The sign on the building was covered with a white tarp and the lawn hadn't been trimmed in a while. The appearance was so abandoned that we called to check the hotel was indeed operational. A nice young woman answered and was accommodating enough to cancel the reservation so that we could find alternative lodging. I can't say how the actual hotel appeared inside, but the outside was enough to send us away quickly.

Room Tip: Remodeling seemed to be going on in the back of the building. We drove around to make sure there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JLKDix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

This hotel has an incredibly dismal, almost foreboding look to it. I thought I'd pulled into an abandoned conference center when I arrived. The parking lot looked like it had been bombed, and the ill-lit hotel entry was anything but welcoming.

The interior of the lobby was also dim and seemingly uninhabited when I entered. Yet there is a pool, a kid's splash area, and some nice greenery inside. Still felt a little creepy for some reason--maybe because it was so quiet.

Anyway, the room was perfectly fine. I was comfortable despite the cold temperatures outside, the building was quiet, and I felt secure in the room. The breakfast area was sparsely populated, but clear, well-stocked, and satisfying.

The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful, though they looked lonely up there. It looks like it was once intended to be a grand hotel, but nowadays it's well past its prime. The parts that really matter, though, are still in good shape. It's a solid option in an area with not a lot of choices.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KeepItCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and i had a good well rested stay enjoyed the hot tube also had a very good complimentary breakfast recommend by the front desk woman Lisett it was better then any other hotel Iv stayed at. I loved how it was like a restaurant

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Juanita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Loved the place, lisset the front counter girl was nice, rooms were nice, lobbys nice and breaskfast was good. The only thing i didnt like was the walk to my room haha but overall great hotel been here before and coming back many times after today

Stayed: June 2016
Thank farm1boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I had a great stay at hotel Muscatine. It was really easy to get to right off the highway and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and front desk worker, Lisett, was very polite and handled everything wonderfully. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscatine hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Muscatine
39 reviews
0.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Muscatine
0.4 km away
Best Western Pearl City Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Muscatine
Hampton Inn Muscatine
#2 of 7 in Muscatine
286 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Muscatine
Super 8 Muscatine
#5 of 7 in Muscatine
124 reviews
3.6 km away
Strawberry Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muscatine Iowa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muscatine Iowa

Address: 2915 N Highway 61, Muscatine, IA 52761-5809 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Muscatine)
Region: United States > Iowa > Muscatine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Muscatine
Price Range: ₹ 3,637 - ₹ 5,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muscatine Iowa 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers on the north side of Muscatine, IA just three miles from the Mississippi riverfront. The Iowa hotel also is a short drive to Bridgestone Bandag, AllSteel, HNI and the Muscatine Soccer Complex. Other attractions in the Muscatine area include Wild Cat Den State Park, Muscatine Art Center (includes Musser Mansion and the Stanley Gallery), Weed Mansion, and Alexander G. Clark House. Two historic districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places (Downtown and West Hill). Guests of this Muscatine hotel can enjoy the free continental breakfast, indoor heated pool and whirlpool along with the 24-hour fitness center. All rooms feature coffee makers, microwave, refrigerator, irons and ironing boards, well lit desk areas and premium TV channels. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences featuring the 24-hour business center with fax and copy service. The next time your travels bring you to Muscatine, IA, the Clarion Hotel would be delighted to accommodate your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Muscatine Iowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muscatine
Muscatine Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing