We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Night.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brown Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Great Night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Brown St Inn last night. The whole way home today was how wonderful this place is. Mark has definitely figured it out. We did not feel like we were staying at a hotel. It felt like visiting an uncle. The rooms were big and clean. So Clean. The Breakfast was better than anything I could of imagined. The worst part of the stay was having to leave. I cant wait until I can get back to Iowa City and Uncle Mark.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
83
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Until now I have stayed in B&B's only with my wife, but the reasonable pricing and high TripAdvisor ratings lead me to consider Brown Street Inn while alone on business in Iowa City. Now I am adding even further to the high ratings. The Inn is a tastefully decorated early 20th century home well located for downtown, the university, and for points north, including Cedar Rapids and the airport. Mark, gracious and alert, is an ideal host. My bed room and private bath were amply-sized, quiet and very comfortable. The room had personality ... and was thoughtfully provisioned. There were surfaces for putting bags, a pleasant couch and cable TV and robes in the closet. The bathroom was homey and elegant. At first I didn't realize how special it was to avoid the chemical-laced air that is the norm in motel rooms. My room was odor free - it was like being at home. I wish all my future nights on the road could be as relaxing and healthy. Which brings me to the continental breakfast: you won't be disappointed. Brown Street Inn gets my highest rating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Brown Street Inn was a truly wonderful experience. It was super clean, extremely friendly, and was like being at home...only, in a home much nicer than you would normally find yourself in. The inn keepers are really nice people, and they allow you your privacy, while also really exceeding your expectations for customer service. They are down to earth folk who want you to enjoy your stay, and know that classic elegance, a homemade chocolate chip cookie, and a cup of really great coffee make the whole stay worth it. It's beautiful and grand, but not pretentious or odd. It's everything we wanted, and nothing we didn't--although, my husband did admire the ironed bed linens so much that I had to put the kibosh on any expectation that I would be ironing sheets at home. He's settled for staying at the Brown Street Inn more often--compromise is what makes a marriage work !

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room--all are pretty quiet, and all have bathrooms, and there is a coffee make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Brown Street Inn has plenty of rave reviews here, but I want to echo other travelers in highly recommending this lovely place. I usually stay with friends on my rare visits to Iowa City, but needed a quieter space on a recent trip - Brown Street was perfect! The decor is lovely and thoughtful throughout, with interesting touches of local history. Rooms are immaculate and good-sized. The location is perfect, in a quiet historic neighborhood within walking distance of the main university area and downtown. The cooked-to-order breakfast is a stand-out, especially when served in the beautiful dining area! The hosts are warm, knowledgeable and excellent conversationalists without being intrusive. An ideal B&B!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fortunatetraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyandotte, Ok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I had been looking for a place to stay and have our wedding when I came across the Brown Street Inn. And let me say, WOW, it is a very beautiful B7B that is very warm and welcoming!! Mark, the owner is just amazing and helped us with everything and anything that we needed. His breakfast is wonderful and the cookies he makes and leves out..well..mmmmmmm!!! I could just go on and on about this plave and i still couldn't say enough for this place. Like you I read reviews and I am so glad it influenced me to go here. If your going to Iowa City, it is a must stay place and amazing for a wedding!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful so you will be happy with any choice you make
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
1.4 km away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.3 km away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.9 km away
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville
#11 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.8 km away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Street Inn

Property: Brown Street Inn
Address: 430 Brown Street, Iowa City, IA 52245
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,478 - ₹ 22,842
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brown Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1913 Gambrel Cottage style mansion is on a quiet street in the Brown Street Historical District. Contemporary but yet timelessly elegant appointments can be found throughout the Inn. We are walking distance to downtown Iowa City, and the University of Iowa Campus. Where hospitatality means coming home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Brown Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Street Inn Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing