We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
75
18
5
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
18
5
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant top floor great location junior suite beautiful hotel discounted rate parking garage super convenient ped mall within walking distance barn door highly recommend this property cooked to order breakfast newer hotel modern decor staff was extremely helpful short walk
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Recently opened, this hotel has what one needs: convenient to all things UI; clean and well appointed; capable staff; and comfortable and spacious rooms. Overall, I would only request a bit more attention to room service: the details are everything. BUT, even then the excellent staff explained what went wrong and did what they could to correct the problem (which wasn't much, but that's fine -- I liked the 'can do' attitude). Overall, great hotel. Will gladly stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CKBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City Downtown University, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you CKBG for the recent review regarding your stay with us! I'm glad to hear you found our hotel to be conveniently located for your needs while in the Iowa City area! I'll be sure to pass your comments along to our Food & Beverage team in regards to room service. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Lindsey Ash
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is brand new, and in a perfect location. It is in the downtown area with many things in walking distance. We kept commenting how quiet it was in the hotel. The breakfast buffet is really good, and a great price. We were visiting our son in college, and we will definitely be staying here again!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank clbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City Downtown University, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you clbenn for the recent review regarding your stay with us! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed a nice and quiet stay! We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Lindsey Ash
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Our family spent one night here while in town for a college visit. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the U of Iowa campus and downtown restaurants. The hotel was new, clean and quiet. We had a fantastic view of the city from the 10th floor. We liked the layout and modern decor of the room, but the bathroom barn door provided no privacy with a family of four in the room.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank mahtomedigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City Downtown University, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you mahtomedigirl for taking the time to fill out a review for us regarding your recent stay! I'm glad you found our hotel to be conveniently located for your needs while staying in the Iowa City area. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Lindsey Ash
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Stayed 3 nights. Like the room design. Very comfortable. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Within walking distance of where I was going. Wish it had availability when I go back to Iowa City in September. Treated well by all the employees. A bit of noise in the hallway on Saturday night, but it calmed down by 10 PM.

Room tip: Use the app to choose your room. Having read reviews, I did not choose the 11th floor.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City Downtown University, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you TravelingDays for the recent review regarding your experience with us! I'm so glad to hear the room was clean and comfortable for you! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Lindsey Ash
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Windy night, hotel room sounded like someone was walking on old wood floors all night long. No way to drown out noise by having A/C fan on for white noise. Nice to have front doors locked to keep the drunk college kids out of Lobby late at night. $14 a night to park in Iowa City is a bit much.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank tkerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey A, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City Downtown University, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you tkerer for the recent review regarding your stay with us! I'm sorry to hear that the wind outside caused noise issues for you. We do have extra fans for white noise available at the Front Desk at any point in time. While we don't have a parking lot specific for our hotel, we are happy to be able to discount the parking available to our guests in the attached parking garage behind our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future!

Lindsey Ash
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews