We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, Good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean, Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed one night on. Hotel was easy to spot, right off US 20 (Dodge Street). No problems wirh our reservation through AARP, rooms were larger than expected, clean, and functional. No elevator, so be prepared to walk up to top third floor with luggage.There is a Mexican restaurant next door , and there are many other restaurants just a few blocks west (Champs, Ground Round, Olive Garden, and fast food, some of which are open till midnight, which we neded due to late arrival). There are also 24 hour Walgreens, Super K mart, and and Wal-Mart if you forgot something. Free breakfast (nothing fancy, but quick - cereal, pastry, bagets, biscuits & gravy, juice & coffee machines) and internet access. Staff was friendly and courteous to us. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAXGUY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    98
    80
    54
    25
See reviews for
80
92
36
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I was a bit put off by the lack of care at this establishment. I am by no means a pampered traveller. This was a stop over en route to another destination, so I only needed a clean bed to sleep in (the bed was clean). All the other stuff was disappointing.... the chair in the room was broken, the coffee maker hinge was broken, the laundry facilities were dirty, the front desk/breakfast nook was sloppy. These little things are fixable.... no different than chores in a home. The owners of this place don't seem to care ... and it really shows.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I had requested a non-smoking room on the internet, but we got a smoking room. When we got there, we were told there were no non-smoking rooms available. The room reeked. Our receipt showed I had requested a smoking room, so it was my fault for not checking the confirmation earlier.

The hallways were not vacuumed well and the back entry door did not lock. I hated the room decor - White sheets with a thin blanket between is not my idea of good decorating. A quilt would have improved the dreary look. The recliner in the room had broken arms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny4723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Used Priceline.com to book a room. Hit first available room not thinking that smoking is no longer allowed in rooms. Called to make sure and was told I had a smoking room. Asked to be switched to non-smoking and was told no problem.

When I checked in, much to my surprise, I had a smoking room. I informed the front desk that I have asthma and cannot stay in a smoking room. The lady at the front desk couldn't have been ruder. She said I did not call to change. She said there were no non-smoking rooms. When I asked to cancel for the week she said that was fine but I would have to pay for the whole week.

I filed a complaint using a number on there business cards only to find out the number is for days inn not super 8.

The gm was of no help either and also had zero customer service skills. I have never written a review or filed a formal complaint, ever. If they would have shown some compassion I wouldn't have written this.

The room was dirty and the customer service was worse. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theviver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8dbq, Manager at Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
I am sorry you had a bad experience. But you booked a smoking room thru priceline and they have confirmed this. and you did not tell us you wanted a non-smoking room when you checked in nor did you call. . You stayed here for 8 days and after your stay you wanted a full refund. Which I couldn't do. as a courtesy I refunded 10% off your entire stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Had no issues at this hotel. Fair price, good breakfast. Biscuits and gravy, cereal and wonderful fresh donuts. Super cable and clean rooms. AC works great. I would stay again. It was also nice and quiet. Nice workers.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sjebuffetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#15 of 17 in Dubuque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 km away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area

Property: Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area
Address: 2730 Dodge St., Dubuque, IA 52003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubuque
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,882 - ₹ 5,631
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Dubuque
Super 8 Dubuque Galena
Dubuque Super Eight
Dubuque Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing