We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Your Own Risk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay at Your Own Risk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Used Priceline.com to book a room. Hit first available room not thinking that smoking is no longer allowed in rooms. Called to make sure and was told I had a smoking room. Asked to be switched to non-smoking and was told no problem.

When I checked in, much to my surprise, I had a smoking room. I informed the front desk that I have asthma and cannot stay in a smoking room. The lady at the front desk couldn't have been ruder. She said I did not call to change. She said there were no non-smoking rooms. When I asked to cancel for the week she said that was fine but I would have to pay for the whole week.

I filed a complaint using a number on there business cards only to find out the number is for days inn not super 8.

The gm was of no help either and also had zero customer service skills. I have never written a review or filed a formal complaint, ever. If they would have shown some compassion I wouldn't have written this.

The room was dirty and the customer service was worse. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theviver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8dbq, Manager at Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
I am sorry you had a bad experience. But you booked a smoking room thru priceline and they have confirmed this. and you did not tell us you wanted a non-smoking room when you checked in nor did you call. . You stayed here for 8 days and after your stay you wanted a full refund. Which I couldn't do. as a courtesy I refunded 10% off your entire stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    101
    80
    55
    25
See reviews for
81
95
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Had no issues at this hotel. Fair price, good breakfast. Biscuits and gravy, cereal and wonderful fresh donuts. Super cable and clean rooms. AC works great. I would stay again. It was also nice and quiet. Nice workers.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sjebuffetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

This was our first time ever staying at a Super 8 Motel. When we got there, the lobby was packed, however Mary, the Guest Service Manager, greeted us right way. Because of all of the scary stories you hear about bed bugs and things, the first thing we did was check the bed. NOTHING! Perfectly pressed sheets and no bugs. A couple hours after settling in, we received a check up call from the front desk just making sure everything was ok. Let me just say, this was the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The shower was free of any water spots, the sink was free of water spots and the toilet was spotless. No hair on the floor in the bathroom. No stains on the towels. And the bed, I felt like it was made just for me, so comfy! Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly! I WILL be going back to stay at this Motel everytime I am in the area. Thank you Super 8 Motel!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBrownGurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Great mix of motel for the money and a wonderful place to eat next door, stay here 8 nights a year. Service has never been a problem, helpful people willing to help. This has been the experience over the years.

Room Tip: Book ahead for busy weekends, yes Dubuque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuclaymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

I had to cancel a reservation due to a death in the family, I was asked to please call back in 10 minutes because "mary" wasn't at the front desk. I did this and called again, "Mary" was completlely RUDE and would not not cancel my reservation because it was after 4!! She said i am sorry mam,but it is one of those things and goodbye!!!! I was completely courteous through out this conversation btw! WOW!! better hope you don't have a DEATH in your family and have to cancel a reservation. Seems other reviews of this hotel have had bad customer service too. You know the Hampton is the same price with great reviews!! Just down the road! Go there!
Disliked: Service

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank danegrl210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubuque hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.2 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#15 of 17 in Dubuque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area

Property: Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area
Address: 2730 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003-7126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubuque
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,047 - ₹ 7,196
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Dubuque/Galena Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Dubuque
Super 8 Dubuque Galena
Dubuque Super Eight
Dubuque Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing