We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end with small town charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High end with small town charm”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have stay here when in town for business. I love the architecture and the historic images throughout. You feel like you are at an exclusive fine hotel, but with small hometown charm. The staff is very friendly and helpful with advice on getting around town. I stayed here a long time ago before they remodeled so I can tell you that it has been tastefully restored to its period design. Although, I stayed here for business I imagine it would be a very romantic getaway place where one could relax with a glass of wine at their restaurant Caroline’s or enjoying a dual spa treatment. The spa pedi and mani were very relaxing and completed in a classy atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    425
    164
    78
    52
See reviews for
447
1,015
64
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This lovely restored hotel manages to be high end and luxurious while maintaining its small-town charm and friendliness. Our room was huge and beautiful (although oddly, not very well equipped for two people with only one luggage rack, one comfortable chair and no place for two people to share coffee). Bathroom also large, though again,it didn't make good use of the space with a tiny countertop and smallish shower. Comfy beds, with lots of pillows. Very important to me - plenty of light to read in bed. Even from 6 floors up,on a warm weekend night the noise from the bars across the street continued until 2:00am, so ask for a room on the other side of the building if you're concerned. Staff was very helpful. Hotel very well located right in the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farewell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We spent a few days at the Hotel Julien, Dubuque, IA recently while visiting eastern Iowa and western Illinois. What a wonderful experience!

The Julien sits right downtown and is very easy to find just off of Highway 20. It is within walking distance of the National Mississippi River Museum, the Diamond Jo Casino, Port of Dubuque, and a variety of nice shops and restaurants downtown. The charming community of Galena, Illinois is a 20-minute drive away. A grand hotel completely redone, the Julien retains its late-Victorian era charm with all of the modern amenities, a great location, and fabulous staff.

Our check-in process was seamless, and the clerk was very friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. The lobby is impressive, boasting a grand staircase, original marble flooring, grand old fireplace, and comfortable seating. Our room was beautiful-- a corner King suite on the fifth floor with a view of downtown Dubuque and the Ice Harbor and Mississippi River. Large windows let in a flood of light, with luxurious curtains, nice stylish furniture, granite countertops in the full kitchen and bathroom sink areas, and a large, spacious bedroom. The bathroom was roomy and beautifully tiled with a big, modern shower, thick towels, and new fixtures. Everything was sparkling clean.

The King bed was firm, but comfortable with nice sheets and covers. Bedside tables and lamps for each side were a nice touch. In the closet were wonderfully-comfortable spa robes; I loved relaxing in my robe and didn't want to take it off! We didn't take advantage of the Potosi Spa downstairs, but the amenities looked good and prices fair. The pool, hot tub, and exercise room were immaculately clean, spacious, and well-appointed.

Another perk of the Julien-- wireless internet is fast and available free of charge in all rooms and public areas. Unlike many hotels of this caliber, the Julien doesn't nickle-and-dime every expense. Much appreciated.

We dined at Caroline's, the hotel's restaurant, our first night and had a wonderful experience. Our meal was perfectly-cooked, and the service top-notch. A full wine-list and varied menu meant there was something for everyone. Caroline's menu is also available via room service--- try the Banana French Toast for breakfast! Prices are very fair, and portions large at this restaurant. Because of the restaurant on-site, there is no complimentary breakfast, but Caroline's is a great restaurant and prices are fair. Room service arrived quickly with a hot meal perfectly prepared and well-presented.


Every staff-member we interacted with at the Julien is to be commended. Each person was friendly, efficient, well-dressed, polite, and really seemed to enjoy their job and were justifiably proud of the grand old hotel. They were willing to go out of their way to ensure any guests' happiness. I really can't think of one bad thing about our stay. The Julien is a touch of old-world luxury in the modern world. By far the best place to stay in Dubuque, and one of the best in the midwest.

Room Tip: East-side rooms will have a view of the river/harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at the Julien with a group of friends and family for a surprise birthday weekend. I could write a twelve page review, but will keep it brief. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, and probably the best hotel in the Iowa - and I am a very picky hotel snob. The rooms were very nice, staff from the front desk, to the lounge, to the restaurant (Carolines) bent over backward to ensure you had a great experience. Location is excellent, the rates are extremely low compared to what you get. I expected something good and found something great. The Julien shines, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Make sure to have some drinks in the lounge and then enjoy a wonderful meal at Carolines restaurant. We had both dinner and breakfast and they were wonderful.

Room Tip: Eat at Carolines - reasonably priced, excellent food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank build2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is one of the most beautiful old hotels. It has undergone millions of dollars of renovation in the last 3 years. It is absolutely delightful located in the historical area of Dubuque. You can make arrangements to visit Al Capone's suite complete with a walk in safe that still smells from the Capone era. the lobby area is tastefully decorated with a lot of areas to visit. The rooms are wonderful. Forgo the regular motels found in every city in America, and make your reservation at the Hotel Julien. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
3.7 km away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
314 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
625 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
6.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,816 - ₹ 17,892
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing