We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at the Julien with a group of friends and family for a surprise birthday weekend. I could write a twelve page review, but will keep it brief. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, and probably the best hotel in the Iowa - and I am a very picky hotel snob. The rooms were very nice, staff from the front desk, to the lounge, to the restaurant (Carolines) bent over backward to ensure you had a great experience. Location is excellent, the rates are extremely low compared to what you get. I expected something good and found something great. The Julien shines, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Make sure to have some drinks in the lounge and then enjoy a wonderful meal at Carolines restaurant. We had both dinner and breakfast and they were wonderful.

Room Tip: Eat at Carolines - reasonably priced, excellent food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank build2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    440
    167
    81
    52
See reviews for
463
1,039
66
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is one of the most beautiful old hotels. It has undergone millions of dollars of renovation in the last 3 years. It is absolutely delightful located in the historical area of Dubuque. You can make arrangements to visit Al Capone's suite complete with a walk in safe that still smells from the Capone era. the lobby area is tastefully decorated with a lot of areas to visit. The rooms are wonderful. Forgo the regular motels found in every city in America, and make your reservation at the Hotel Julien. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I stayed the last weekend in February. It was supposed to be a getaway simply to sleep. It was a close one hour drive and we booked two nights and were very much looking forward to uninterupted sleep since we have two little ones that don't sleep very well. We loved the hotel itself. Room service was amazing, very reasonably priced. Being a couple in our 30's we appreciated and loved the Riverboat Lounge. They had a DJ both Friday & Saturday night and was a great place to unwind. The ONLY downfall and it was a HUGE one was the fact that our bed was extremely hard to the point that we both tossed and turned all night and woke up extremely sore. My husband even requires a hard bed bc he has a bad back and he woke up both mornings popping ibuprofen. The pillows were so thick that you basically felt like your chin was burried in your chest. I've never in all my hotel stays complained about a hotel bed but this one was extremely uncomfortable to the point that we even considered sleeping on the pull out couch. Also they gave us a handicap room and our shower leaked no matter which way we put the shower curtain which was a little frustrating bc of the rather large stream that one of us mopped up while the other one showered. If you're going to Dubuque and are planning on staying at the Julien, bring your own pillow, you'll be glad you did. The hotel is amazing and beautiful and perfectly located. You have several options for dinning within walking distance and Carolines downstairs is very good. I didn't have a chance to try the spa and was hoping to try it next time, however I'm not sure I could get my husband to return based on the beds.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Julien for a last minute weekend getaway. We chose this hotel because it's a boutique hotel nearby two casinos with a spa on site.

The Good: beautiful historic hotel, downtown Dubuque. Our Executive Room was nicely decorated and spacious for two people with an expansive view of downtown. The bed was comfortable; the pillows a bit firm for my taste. Modern amenities, Moen & Kohler fixtures, and Aveda bath products. The room has a Keurig coffee maker, and I loved that a full bottle of Cabernet & wine opener were available to us along with an array of honor bar items. The room was very clean and quickly turned each day. Nearby are two casinos offering free shuttles. We preferred the gaming at the Majestique. Crust, across the street, was wonderful. We would have liked to try L. May or Pepper Sprout, but ran out of time.

The opportunities: as other reviewers commented, the jacuzzi could be warmer, but it's not unpleasant. Our 2nd time at the pool, no towels were available and when we asked for some, after 30 minutes, none had arrived. Attached to the hotel is a night club - the Riverboat Lounge - which caters to the nearby college crowd. As this was our first trip to the area, we were surprised by the number of college bars on Main St; unfortunately, not much for the the 30+ crowd. By midnight, the club next door is loud and packed. Too bad the hotel doesn't offer a little pub or bar for us "older folks." The night club just doesn't seem to fit with the overall hotel vibe.

What to keep in mind: the Exec. room has a fridge, but no microwave. Parking is free, but limited. The Hotel Julien is one of the top hotels for weddings and events in the area, so most weekends are pretty busy. The spa gets booked early, so make an appointment in advance. All in all, the hotel was lovey. While quaint & charming, the downtown area lacked the variety of dining, bars and attractions that we're typically used to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegulaRay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Have stayed at Hotel Julien many times in the past six months, most recently in November. I stay there while on business in Dubuque.

This is an historic hotel in a great location in the heart of downtown Dubuque. Unlike most metropolitan downtown hotels, parking is free at the Hotel Julien.

The rooms are not large but are very well appointed. I especially like the basket of snacks (the Hotel's version of a mini-bar).

The beds are extra comfortable and the linens are of the highest quality. The wireless internet works well and the rooms are equipped with flat-screen HD televisions.

The staff at the front-desk is very helpful and friendly.

Love the hotel and will continue to stay there when I return to Dubuque.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are quieter. Rooms near the elevator can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBear_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
3.7 km away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
637 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
22.6 km away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,958 - ₹ 18,620
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing