We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quaint boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Have stayed at Hotel Julien many times in the past six months, most recently in November. I stay there while on business in Dubuque.

This is an historic hotel in a great location in the heart of downtown Dubuque. Unlike most metropolitan downtown hotels, parking is free at the Hotel Julien.

The rooms are not large but are very well appointed. I especially like the basket of snacks (the Hotel's version of a mini-bar).

The beds are extra comfortable and the linens are of the highest quality. The wireless internet works well and the rooms are equipped with flat-screen HD televisions.

The staff at the front-desk is very helpful and friendly.

Love the hotel and will continue to stay there when I return to Dubuque.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are quieter. Rooms near the elevator can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBear_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    413
    155
    76
    48
See reviews for
431
975
64
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

As a spur of the moment get-away from Chicago, we chose to visit the city of Dubuque with its wonderfully historic buildings and friendly "small town" atmosphere. We spent two nights in the classic and charming Hotel Julien in the heart of old downtown and luxuriated in style while paying "small-town" prices. Beautifully restored in 2009, the hotel provides a quiet respite with old-fashioned hospitality. Our room was sumptuously outfitted with comfortable, cozy beds, plush robes, a spacious bathroom, upscale toiletries, and a very reasonably-priced mini-bar to indulge our every whim. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Caroline's, located within the hotel, but also found it easy to walk to several places nearby and enjoyed a second night's dinner at "Crust", a wonderfully, hip Italian/pizzaria across the street. We would have had breakfast at Caroline's but decided to try out the local Dubuque eatieries such as the nearby classic diner, Dottie's Cafe at 504 Central Ave.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swazzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

great hotel-superb customer service had a glich in reservations from expedia. Management upgraded the room to a suite. Nice fittness ctr. and pool. i WILL RECMMEND AND STAY HERE AGAIN. i HAD A COMFORTABLE FIRM BUT NOT TO FIRM MATTERESS AND THAT WAS GREAT.

Room Tip: HIGHER FLOORS ARE LESS quieter.especially on wkends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

From the moment you walk into the Hotel Julien, you feel like you have stepped back into time. It is a very classy property with beautiful decor. I especially loved the bathroom; shower is great. The rooms are very clean, and spacious. We had a view of Main street and it was lovely and not noisy at all. The location is great as well. The museum/casino are all within walking distance. The downtown has some great shops and restaurants all within blocks. The staff is courteous and kind. I definitely will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MESWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Over the weekend we stayed at The Hotel Julien & it is gorgeous. It was a beautiful room & we got a great rate. It is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants & shops. There are even shuttles from the local casinos that will pick you up & drop you off at the hotel door. We didn't eat at the on-site restaurant but the menu & food looked marvelous...I doubt it would disappoint. Our room was a king suite and it was very spacious with a fridge, pod coffee maker that included coffee & tea. Even a pair of terry lined robes in the closet for us. I only wish we would have been there for 2 nights instead of one!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magillacutty260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
18.6 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,324 - ₹ 18,246
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing