We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Nearby Hotels
US$ 111
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 112
US$ 99
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 176
US$ 123
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 102
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 167
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 89
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 158
US$ 154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,547)
Filter reviews
2,548 results
Traveller rating
1,693
509
196
86
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,693
509
196
86
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelcaroline's restaurantriverboat loungepotosa spaal caponecapone suiteaveda productswithin walking distancethe rivermain streetdowntown areawedding receptionget awayking suitediamond jo casinofront desk staffpool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
2,411 - 2,416 of 2,548 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

As a spur of the moment get-away from Chicago, we chose to visit the city of Dubuque with its wonderfully historic buildings and friendly "small town" atmosphere. We spent two nights in the classic and charming Hotel Julien in the heart of old downtown and luxuriated in style while paying "small-town" prices. Beautifully restored in 2009, the hotel provides a quiet respite with old-fashioned hospitality. Our room was sumptuously outfitted with comfortable, cozy beds, plush robes, a spacious bathroom, upscale toiletries, and a very reasonably-priced mini-bar to indulge our every whim. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Caroline's, located within the hotel, but also found it easy to walk to several places nearby and enjoyed a second night's dinner at "Crust", a wonderfully, hip Italian/pizzaria across the street. We would have had breakfast at Caroline's but decided to try out the local Dubuque eatieries such as the nearby classic diner, Dottie's Cafe at 504 Central Ave.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swazzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

great hotel-superb customer service had a glich in reservations from expedia. Management upgraded the room to a suite. Nice fittness ctr. and pool. i WILL RECMMEND AND STAY HERE AGAIN. i HAD A COMFORTABLE FIRM BUT NOT TO FIRM MATTERESS AND THAT WAS GREAT.

Room Tip: HIGHER FLOORS ARE LESS quieter.especially on wkends.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

From the moment you walk into the Hotel Julien, you feel like you have stepped back into time. It is a very classy property with beautiful decor. I especially loved the bathroom; shower is great. The rooms are very clean, and spacious. We had a view of Main street and it was lovely and not noisy at all. The location is great as well. The museum/casino are all within walking distance. The downtown has some great shops and restaurants all within blocks. The staff is courteous and kind. I definitely will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MESWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Over the weekend we stayed at The Hotel Julien & it is gorgeous. It was a beautiful room & we got a great rate. It is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants & shops. There are even shuttles from the local casinos that will pick you up & drop you off at the hotel door. We didn't eat at the on-site restaurant but the menu & food looked marvelous...I doubt it would disappoint. Our room was a king suite and it was very spacious with a fridge, pod coffee maker that included coffee & tea. Even a pair of terry lined robes in the closet for us. I only wish we would have been there for 2 nights instead of one!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magillacutty260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We decided on a last minute getaway without our kids in Dubuque, IA. Our reservation was made the night befoe and we arrived in the late afternoon. We were greeted warmly by the desk clerk and checked in quickly. The hotel's renovations were great and our room was luxurious, clean, and overlooked the Mississippi River. There was free parking. There were free shuttles to the casinos and many restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant, Carolyn's was delicious and reasonably priced. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Mississippi face the east and the morning sun over the river is a great view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nisssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Julien, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to enjoy our Potosa Spa during your next visit as well. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews