We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than it looks from the outside”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have a lot of family in DBQ, I think I've stayed in every hotel in the city. A reservation at the last minute was made by a family member, and when we got there I was a little apprehensive about staying in a place that resembled a large cell block. But once inside the hotel is quite pleasant, the staff is nice, the rooms are clean with reasonably updated decor. Totally reccommended.

Room Tip: Ignore the outside, the inside is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bermuda_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

The staff was very nice and extra helpful. But the building is obviously old and could use some updating. Overall clean and good continental breakfast.

Room Tip: The view from the east side of the building is better than the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The staff was AMAZING!! The girl who worked the front desk was very friendly and gave us great advice where to go eat in town. We asked on our way to our room and as we were leaving the hotel she had a map all made out for us of her recommendation. Her recommendation was perfect and we had a fantastic dinner. The hotel itself is what you would expect of a Comfort Inn. It isn't the nicest in the world but it was fine for budget traveling. The pool was nice. The only complaint we had about the pool was the fact that like most Comfort Inns the pool has two ladders in and no steps. My youngest son can't swim so we had to hold him the whole time we were in the pool.

Room Tip: Be a reward club member. They upgraded us to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gagesmom314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stay mostly at Comfort Inns, so that is the first place I look for in a town. This one was not nearly as nice as most but staff was very freindly, room was clean...small..but clean. Rooms need updated badly..older TV's...Air condtioner leaked on floor..no biggie tho..outdated bedding..hated the pillows but bed was comfy...all in all for the price it was acceptable

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Having not done ANYTHING fun with my daughter while she was on Spring Break, I had Friday off to spend with her. I planned for us to go spend the day in Dubuque, IA to visit the Mississippi River Museum. On a whim, I checked out Priceline and decided to "Name my Price" at $35 in a 3 star hotel arriving that very night. To my delight, it was accepted and were on our way at 7pm! With tax, the room came to $47 and change.

We arrived to the 2-star rated (how did I get a 2star with a 3star request, PRICELINE?!) Comfort Inn Dubuque approximately 9pm after a white-knuckling trip through the hilly Galena Territory. We found our room (102) to be conveniently down the hall from the check in desk and breakfast area, as well as across from the pool. Modern furnishings and a very clean bathroom were what we found. Two full sized beds, a chair with ottoman, a dresser, mirror, 32" television, and bistro set.

Rachael IMMEDIATELY wanted to get into that pool! With children able to use the pool until 10pm, she opted to head straight in and take full advantage of her time. The pool also is open for adults until midnight.

At 10, we retired to our room. As we had forgone the trip to Walmart straight across the road, we had no food and no cash to use the vending machines down the hall, and Rachael complained wholeheartedly about being hungry. I assured her there would be a full breakfast spread available in the morning, and we closed our eyes while the Disney channel played. I couldn't sleep right away so I did hook up the laptop to the available FREE internet WI-FI access.

The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable, with an abundance of varying degrees of fluffiness pillows, I think each bed had FOUR, There was also a TIMEX alarm clock, however, I didn't need to use it, as my early riser woke me with a kiss at around 6:45. ON VACATION. ugh.

The breakfast spread is open from 6-9am and includes Washington and Granny Smith apples, big oranges, and bananas. Available Quaker Oats oatmeals in the available regular flavors, premade coffees, ice water, and hot water for tea. There is a waffle maker (fun!) bread, english muffins, for toasting. Cream cheese, peanut butter, and jelly for that. A 4 slot toaster. Pastries included mini and regular muffins in banana, walnut, blueberry, and poppyseed. Lemon pastries (whatever they're called). There was 2 different kinds of cereals in huge dispensers, a tray of about 30 hard boiled eggs with salt and pepper shakers right there. There was a crockpot of Bisquits-n-Gravy (yum!) as well as the bisquits for it. I couldn't for the life of me find the stinkin' syrup, and there was no one at the front desk, so while I did make a waffle, I couldn't eat it! I love bisquits'n gravy though so I got that. Rachael, little-miss-starving, just grabbed some apples and an orange with some apple juice. Oh yea, there was also apple and orange juice.

A pretty decent spread! We grabbed a couple extra apples for later, and a couple muffins in case the fruit wasn't enough for her.

After breakfast, it was time for the pool. Again. At 8a.m. LOL. Whatever. It's her spring break, right? She swam for an hour and after swallowing way too much water, decided she was done. Back to the room for a bath and a short rest before exploring Dubuque. Unfortuneately for us, it's a rather gloomy day here.

The plan is to hit up the Walmart across the way (always good for cheap local souvies anywhere you go), then head into town to see about the Fenelon Elevator and shopping area, the River Museum, and then probably head back across the Big River to Galena, where we'll visit Poopsies and that adorable Toy Store on Main Street before heading back home!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpotlightOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.6 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
87 reviews
6.0 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
4.8 km away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#16 of 17 in Dubuque
652 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 4055 McDonald Dr, Dubuque, IA 52003-5249 (Formerly Dubuque Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: ₹ 4,033 - ₹ 8,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dubuque Comfort Inn® is conveniently located near many area attractions, including America's River at the Port of Dubuque, Diamond Jo Casino, Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino, Five Flags Civic Center, the Dubuque County Fairgrounds, Sundown Mountain and the Kennedy Mall. This Dubuque, IA hotel is just minutes from Loras College, Clarke College and the University of Dubuque. The Finley Hospital and Mercy Medical Center are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing