We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel, great location, but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Manning, Iowa
Level Contributor
231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“good hotel, great location, but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

The Garden has an excellent location attached an above averge casino and a shuttle to the Dubuque Saints' home hockey rink, couldn't be better. The rooms are clean and the service is friendly. Be prepared to wait an unusually long time for meals at the Garden's partner restaurant, Houlihan's. Also, be advised to avoid the Garden's breakfast unless you wish to pay a rather inflated bill for what most hotels and motels provide for free.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank augustleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubuquehilton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us. Houlihans, the adjoining restaurant, does offer a complimentary shuttle to and from the hockey games. Please let management know at Houlihans on your next visit and we will strive to make your experience as outstanding as the food they serve! Thanks again for the feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    163
    57
    30
    20
See reviews for
107
226
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was my first stay at the Dubuque HGI. It's looks like a newer hotel and the staff is very friendly. If you are on the bridge, coming from the downtown area, it's not easy to get to. You will need a map or stop at the BP next to the bridge for directions. It's more obvious if coming from WI. You can also follow the signs for the Mystique Casino, as it's next door.

The room was standard HGI quality and very nicely done. It was next to the work out and pool area. There was no noise leaking in to the room, which is always appreciated. I had to laugh, my room had an echo. You don't have that too often.

If you are looking for accomodations by the Mystique Casino, this is the best. I had business downtown and this isn't the best location for that. This isn't exactly downtown, but close to it. It's a 5 minute highway drive.

Room Tip: Houlihan's is attached to the hotel. I didn't try it on this trip, but plan to on the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalbeattiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubuquehilton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for the nice review! Being nestled next to the Mystique Casino and the Mississippi River, we are a few minutes away from downtown. That being said, there is plenty to eat and do while you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. There are beautiful walking/bike paths with awesome views of the river. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have stayed at the hotel twice, and it's very good. The workout room is above average for a HGI. The Mystique Casino is attached, which has a couple of restaurants. There's also a Houlihan's Restaurant on-site, which is very good. Would recommend. Front desk staff very upbeat and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheekywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubuquehilton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for the nice review! Houlihans restaurant and Bar is very convienant being next door and we appreciate your business. I will pass this nice review on to the front desk staff as they will enjoy to hear that they have made your stay enjoyable. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was there in July of 2011 and wrote about the price of breakfast. I wrote that it was a bit on the pricey side. My wife and I were there Sunday Jan 29 and even though I stayed at the Julien, I went to breakfast here. We got 2 buffets which was $30 total. My wife and I agree that this was a great price, as unlike ALL the other breakfast buffets, this was a made to order breakfast buffet. The food came out fresh. Like most experienced travelers, we do not expect great food, but it needs to be hot. This was both. The server ( I believe her name was Angie) was great, as she kept the table cleared and my coffee filled. Great job, good value. The next time I am in Dubuque, I will dine here. Thank You

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwong29371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to bring your breakfast concerns to our attention. We do offer an outstanding variety of cook to order items, full service with omelets, eggs to order and all the sides!. I will address the proper temerature of each item with my Chef, and compliment your server for her outstanding customer service skills. Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have now stayed two or three times and always find this hotel clean, well run and freindly. We have not eaten breakfast (made to order) at the hotel yet but the grill looks invitng. This hotel is attached to a Houlihan's Restaurant for lunch and dinner and the Mystique Casino with its restaurants also. We will certainly be staying again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a walk from the elevator. If you have limited mobility ask for a room near the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubuquehilton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for all the compliments on the hotel! As stated in review, Houlihans is very convienant for lunch and supper. Also, the Mystique is connected to the hotel by a nice, warm walkway for the long winter months.
Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
6.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
8.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Address: 1801 Greyhound Park Rd, Dubuque, IA 52001-2381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,288 - ₹ 15,263
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Hotel Dubuque
Hilton Dubuque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing