We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but starting to slip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay at Grand Harbour - the previous stay nearly 7 years ago. My wife and I were both slightly disappointed on our recent stay. The room was O.K. but the sheets had several holes in them, didn't fit the bed, and therefore pulled off the corners every time someone turned. The room was't spic-and-span clean. The TV was old and the remote had tape on the back to keep the battery in. The waterpark hours were not mentioned during my making the reservation nor posted on their web site anywhere I noticed, resulting in a disappointed family on our first night when the park didn't open until 4:00 pm. The waterpark itself has peeling paint, some slick spots on the floor, and netting on the walkways that need replaced. Tony Roma's was good for both lunch and breakfast. Adequate but not much more.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdpylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,609 - 1,613 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

my husband and I stayed here because we went to a concert at the casino across the street. The whole area was very nice. our room was really spacious and overlooked the Mississippi river. It has a watepark for the kids that I'm sure was fun, and it had a River museum also in the complex. The Casino was fun and clean and we won. Just a couple of small things I did not like about the hotel, registration on the second floor never a good idea, also have automatic doors at the entrance.

Room Tip: I would ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear "Neasley" from Marion,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us and we are pleased you enjoyed the Port of Dubuque attractions as well. We also appreciated any feedback from our guests. In response to your concerns during your visit, I am proud to tell you that we have began renovations to the hotel and one item that will be addressed is a new hotel entrance to include sliding glass doors. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great views of the river. Generic amenities. Not a bad expirrence but very average. The water park must be the focus for most guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The waterpark was fun for each of us in our family of 6. Slides for all ages, a large swim/play area for toddlers, small lazy river, big climb on water gym with 2 slides, and a tube slide. It was clean, warm, and large enough that it didn't seem too crowded.
The rooms were also nice and clean, microwave, nice view from any room I would think! We could see the river, bridge and beautiful downtown Dubuque from our windows!

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 doubles and a sleep sofa for our 6 family members
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottaGoTravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I visited the Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark in Dubuque with three of my grandkids during their spring break. What a great value! Although we have a similar venue very close to our home, it was well worth the 3 1/2 hour drive to Dubuque to experience Grand Harbor's hospitality. The waterpark is well staffed with lifeguards and has plenty of fun experiences. The kids' club was lots of fun for my three (13, 12 and 10) and the $1 root beer floats every night were delicious. The National Mississippi River Museum is in walking distance from the hotel and admission was included in our very reasonable nightly rate. Fantastic museum with lots of short movies, great exhibits and wonderful personnel. I highly recommend a visit to Grand Harbor and the surrounding area to all. I left a very valuable personal item behind in the room and Robin in Housekeeping was very helpful in getting it returned to me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mississippi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Sue R from Waukegon,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding your Spring Break stay. I will be sure to pass them along to our team. Our activity staff really take pride in providing an entertaining family experience. We are pleased that you made the 3 1/2 hour drive and we hope you continue in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,437 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
335 reviews
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
5.2 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: ₹ 6,441 - ₹ 13,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing