We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I visited the Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark in Dubuque with three of my grandkids during their spring break. What a great value! Although we have a similar venue very close to our home, it was well worth the 3 1/2 hour drive to Dubuque to experience Grand Harbor's hospitality. The waterpark is well staffed with lifeguards and has plenty of fun experiences. The kids' club was lots of fun for my three (13, 12 and 10) and the $1 root beer floats every night were delicious. The National Mississippi River Museum is in walking distance from the hotel and admission was included in our very reasonable nightly rate. Fantastic museum with lots of short movies, great exhibits and wonderful personnel. I highly recommend a visit to Grand Harbor and the surrounding area to all. I left a very valuable personal item behind in the room and Robin in Housekeeping was very helpful in getting it returned to me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mississippi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Sue R from Waukegon,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding your Spring Break stay. I will be sure to pass them along to our team. Our activity staff really take pride in providing an entertaining family experience. We are pleased that you made the 3 1/2 hour drive and we hope you continue in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,550 - 1,554 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have stayed here before, the previous trip was about three years ago. The kids really enjoyed the waterpark which was the main reason for our stay. We were in a Jr Double room. Two double beds and a pullout sofa. (there are 5 in our familes), small fridge & microwave in all rooms. The room was decent but looking somewhat dated to me. The bedding, including the mattress, carpet and wallpaper in the bathroom could use some updating. My oldest son made a comment about the TV as it was not a flat screen. The waterpark could use a little updating also. I understand it's a water park but a coat of paint goes along way. There is a lot of visable rust on some of the equipment especially where the big bucket is that dumps water every so many minutes. In a couple spots in the lazy river there was a collection of dirt & sand at the bottom of the 'river'. The kids enjoyed all the slides and all in all we had a good time. I just think it's time to spruce the place up a bit.

Room Tip: If you want a little extra room I would go for a suite. Those rooms are at the end of the hallway al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear of Iowa family of 5 from Cedar Rapids,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Grand Harbor Resort and Water park. We truly appreciate your return visit to our property. I would like to update you on our current renovation plans which should address most of your concerns. Our water park is showing signs of age however, getting ample time to paint and remove those areas requires the park to be shut down for long periods of time and our guest count has been too high to do. We have however adjusted our park hours to allow us for much needed maintenance. We have replaced the deck under the bucket, repaint the pools and replaced 12 structures on the tree house with new powder coated pieces. New nets have been ordered for the half of the stucture and we are looking at more sandblasting for the remaining structures you had mentioned. As far as rooms, new hallway and room carpet has been ordered along with paint, linen and some hard goods for the room. We hope to be started in late spring with the beginning our our full house renovation. I hope this answers some of your concern. Thank you again for the comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We went for a long weekend and probably the most important thing to know about this hotel is book in advance!!! I can't say this enough. The price goes up and up the more you wait. We got a Friday and Saturday for about $240 total but had friends call that week and were quoted almost as much for one night. Secondly this is not the Dells, if you want a waterpark on the scale of the Dells then go there. The waterpark was nice, very busy, but my kids loved it! The lazy river is small but we still enjoyed it. My family loved the waterslides as well. We ate at Tony Roma's, it was ok for lunch and dinner but breakfast both days wasn't very great. For what they charge go somewhere else, pancakes tasted terrrible and nothing was great just ok. If you are staying here I would check out the River Museum next door, very fun!

Room Tip: Book in advance!!! Even number rooms face the river, odd face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ22Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place was disgusting! The room smelled like a nursing home, there was gum in the carpet, many holes in the sheets, and our bathroom smelled like an ashtray-we were in a non-smoking room. We went down to the water park and wouldn't let our kids get into the water. The water looked gray, the floor was black in spots from filth, many of the metal fixtures were all rusty. There were food bits all over the floor right by the pool. We were afraid our kids would get bacterial or fungal infections!!! We got our money back and left!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Reserved a room for 1 night to take the kids to the attached waterpark. The first room we entered looked a little worn, but we were okay with this until we saw the stains on the duvet cover and a bug on the bed. I called down and they apologized and said they would get us another room and offered to send someone up to help us move. Great customer service. We were upgraded to another suite (this one with a river view vs. the downtown we had previously) and a fireplace. The view was beautiful and offered plenty of room. Despite the great customer service and large room, the room was worn (furniture, carpet, wallpaper, etc...) and needed a good cleaning...including the shower that had a stuff growing on the bottom of the shower door. There was also a curious burn that left a hole at the top of the bathroom door (we realized that this was due to the ceiling heat lamp that was poorly placed that must have burned a hold in the top of the door). The kids enjoyed the waterpark and the food at Tony Roma's (on site) was okay, but I would recommend going elsewhere if not pressed for time. In general an okay place to stay, but overpriced based on the lack of maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingIowaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,364 reviews
2.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
5.2 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: ₹ 6,572 - ₹ 10,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing