We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Conventions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I was in Des Moines for a convention, so this hotel was the practical choice. The Savery’s strong point is the fact that it is connected to the Polk County Convention Complex by an enclosed walkway where police officers patrolled. I read that Des Moines has a fairly high crime rate, so, being a woman on my own, the enclosed walkway made me feel more at ease.

The hotel’s restaurant, BOS, serves “Midwestern Contemporary Cuisine,” but the food is good, not exceptional. The indoor pool is a plus. The room décor is nice, but it lacks zest. The lobby is nice and the hotel itself is listed as a “Historic Hotel of America” for the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

The staff members were very friendly and helpful ~ housekeeping included. All in all it was a good choice for convention accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank NockieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 288 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

I used priceline and bid $100 for a room based on rates listed around $150. It's a very old hotel that has been updated. The staff are consistantly super friendly and personable and during our stay we asked for recommendations and information of at least 3 different personnel. Though the hotel is clean and nicely appointed, the rooms are small (a holdover from olden days, no doubt). Having seen a group of teenagers in the lobby, I asked for a super quiet room. They put us on the 5th floor on a wing where they usually put pilots and airline staff. Ask for it if you go! Indeed we saw airline staff in uniform in the lobby and on our wing. But it was perfectly quiet. One benefit of an older hotel is thick walls and floors. I am super sound sensitive and this was like a vault! This hotel is in walking distances of many nice restaurants and a walking path along the river with a beautiful bridge. Only complaint was that our bed was super bouncy and the slightest movement woke the other up. I dont know if $100 was a good price or not - when I did Priceline I bid on a 3 1/2 star hotel (the highest possible) and this is what accepted our bid. We were happy!

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor wing where they put airline personnel if you're looking for a quiet room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCIDAHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business in early March. This is my second time at this hotel. It was another successful stay. Room was bright, clean and comfortable. Yes, the bathrooms are small, but they are clean and that is all that matters. It would be nice to have a shelf that was a little larger to place the toiletries that you are using on it. The lounge is undergoing renovations and they have moved the lounge part into the lobby of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was a bargain at the BOS restaurant and included hot and cold foods. My room was also by the mechanical room and I did not hear a thing, but I am a heavy sleeper. Internet was complimentary, easy to to log onto and the signal strong. Would definitely stay here again if in the Des Moines area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quilting4Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Nice hotel and a great location if you have business downtown connected to the sky walk. In our case business was at the Federal Building, 3 to 5 minute walk from the hotel, inside no going out in the cold ! Rooms were nice size, and clean. Building is handy cap accessible (I'm in a wheelchair) and a nice lunch and dining area. Entrance from the street or through the sky walk from parking garage. Prices can be a bit on the high end, but depending on where you need to be, the location can make up the difference.

Room Tip: eat early we had a difficult time finding food after 6pm, mostly fast food or pizza was all that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

It's Des Moines in January and it's cold. The hotel and it's staff we're all the warmth we needed. A bunch of guys rolling off a tour bus looking like they should go to HoJo, and they didn't blink an eye.

The Staff was helpful, all facilities clean and up to date, house keeping came quickly when I asked for extra towels. Every detail attended to, even a cup of coffee brought to me at the counter as I was checking out.

As a Marriott Plat Elite, I have that upgrade coming, but they upgraded both rooms for me, that is a nice touch. Better, when I came down an hour later to ask about a third room, no worries, same great rate, same upgrade.

They have the hotel connected to the majority of downtown via skywalks that stay open late into the night. We were able to make it 5 blocks away to Court and entertainment with minimal exposure to the elements.

Note on parking: there was really no place to put a Prevost

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.4 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.3 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
452 reviews
0.7 km away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel

Address: 401 Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-2311 (Formerly Renaissance Savery Hotel)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range: ₹ 8,274 - ₹ 14,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel, located in the heart of downtown Des Moines, Iowa is within walking distance to Wells Fargo Arena, Iowa Events Center, Civic Center of Greater Des Moines, Court Avenue restaurants and nightlife and East Village restaurants and shops. Start your day off right with a visit to Coda Coffee, located on the street level of the hotel, for freshly brewed Starbucks beverages. Then return in the evening to Coda Lounge to discover the hottest new lounge in downtown Des Moines. Don't miss the contemporary midwest cuisine and local products served in BOS restaurant, also located street level in the hotel. Additional amenities enjoyed by guests include a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, complimentary airport transportation and complimentary wireless service. If you’re searching for a venue to host a romantic wedding, a business meeting or a conference, this hotel features over 12,000 square feet of function space, innovative meeting technology and a creative catering and culinary team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Des Moines
Des Moines Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing