We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveller rating
655
303
111
68
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
303
111
68
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening reception cocktail hour managers reception made to order omelets east village self parking river view complimentary breakfast is beautiful hotel shuttle service per day wells fargo arena free shuttle capitol building business trip civic center nice stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Management was rude, room wasn't cleaned, room service was cut off early, the shuttle left our group stranded at a closed restaurant in a dark alley, trash wasnt taken out for over 24 hours and dirty dishes were not removed.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank GlobeTrotting411974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

The person in reservations interrupted me repeatedly, I had to call the hotel directly. Person at front told me reservation was good, called later to modify and was told I had no reservation, but I could make one for $90 more than the reservation I made earlier in the day. Called back and the person at the front desk was no help. Wish I could leave a 0 star review.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Abe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Easy to access, service oriented and rooms are large and confortable. If there is any issue, the staff is anxious and willing to respond quickly and ensure issue has been taken care of. My “go to” choice in Des Moines.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank alzwinick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Stayed during the fair. Agree with other reviews, the staff was pleasant and helpful.

The day we checked in, we noticed our room was not entirely clean, i.e. pretzels thrown in the corner of the room as well as a large clump of hair clippings behind the faucet in the bedroom sink. We contacted the front desk and was assured the room would be cleaned upon our return from the fair that day. We returned and it was still dirty. We even received message on our room phone indicating housekeeping had been contacted and let the front desk know if there were any further issues.

The common areas, i.e. sofas, tables, and floors were disgusting. Drinkware from the happy hour was left outside for days, the carpet had ground in Fritos from the happy hour. I never saw anyone even attempting to pick up or clean these areas. I would like to mention, the area where breakfast was served was very clean, it's the outer areas that were filthy.

The valet area had an unusual amount of trash in the drive as well as the overflowing trash in the trash cans. This hotel only has valet service, we parked our car with the valet service the night we arrived. The next morning we requested our vehicle and the valet service was unable to locate our keys. After some back and forth, valet even tried to convince us that we never gave them the keys, however our car was found parked in the valet garage, but the keys were still missing. Finally it was determined that the valet person who parked our vehicle, had taken our keys home with him that night. Unfortunately he lived in a town 45 minutes away from our hotel. Valet provided a ride to the capital building so we could catch the shuttle to the fair. When we returned from the fair, our keys had returned from their out of town adventures.

Back at the hotel the next day, we had to track down Housekeeping to make the beds, provide clean towels & vacuum our room. When we asked if our room would be cleaned, the housekeeper replied that she had just been in our room & what did we need. We indicated the beds were unmade as well as we would like refreshed towels. We mentioned this to the front desk when checking out & the woman behind the desk just shrugged her shoulders.

This was our only vacation this year and it's very disappointing that the hotel was not as relaxing as it should've been. We will not be back to DSM Embassy Suites as it was not worth the price to have to this experience.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank kimberlysellers6201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Old coffee machine, Poor coffee, Dirty carpet and couches.Excellent Breakfast. GREAT! Shuttle Service and Drivers. OK Evening Reception. Dirty Pool Bathroom. OK Fitness Center.Beds OK. Cleaning staff did Good Job!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank AmitA447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews