We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Place to Relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Delightful Place to Relax!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After a conference in downtown Des Moines, I checked into the Embassy Suites on the River for some much-needed relaxation. Out the window of my 5th floor suite I could watch the lazy river. Also, there were several spots in front of the hotel to sit by the river’s edge.

The hotel has a marvelous (and warm) indoor swimming pool and is close to shops and the stunning state capitol building. Breakfast (included) was served in a beautiful atrium near a waterfall. Complimentary hors d'oeuvres were served in the evening. It was a delightful place to relax after a busy conference.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river-side have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NockieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    262
    81
    57
    21
See reviews for
278
166
34
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walden, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel. Great people well above average service. It is clean and neat. Managers reception was above most. Walking distance to Iowa Cubs and many retaurants. I would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walden_NewYorkMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
149 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I just spent two nights at the Embassy Suites in Des Moines. The hotel is pretty much like any Embassy Suites. However, since it is downtown it does not offer free parking. The suite I stayed in had a free standing shower and water splashed onto the bathroom floor. The mattress was really worned. One night I slept on one side of the mattress and it leaned toward the edge, so the next night I switched sides and found it to also lean toward the edge of the bed.

I have stayed at this Embassy Suite two times and previosuly reviewed the hotel for Tripadvisor. During this stay I found the staffing is very inconsistent. For example, I had called the hotel about six hours before my arrival and asked if I could have a corner suite with a king-size bed. I was told by the front desk staff that they would block the corner suite off for me. However, when I arrived at the hotel, the front desk staff said that all of the corner suites had been taken. In addition, after dropping off my rental car at the airport I called the hotel and was told that I would be picked up in 15 minutes. However, 25 minutes later I called the hotel again and was told that the 15 minutes was an estimate. I was finally picked up 30 minutes after my initial call.

The Embassy Des Moines offers a suite sleeping room with flat screen televisions in the living and bed rooms. They also offer a manager’s reception and a free breakfast. The manager’s reception is not designed to be one’s dinner, even though some certainly try. The manager’s receptions consist of chips and dip, along with some humus. Free alcoholic drinks are also available during the reception.

I ate two nights in the restaurants/bar. Brian the manager and the Doozie-girls are great people. There is usually a special each night. One night I had the bean soup and it was some of the best soup I have ever eaten.

I conducted a conference at the hotel and the food and beverage, and event staff members were really excellent. As usual, I asked for some minor changes to be made to the meeting room and the changes were taken care of immediately. The hotel is located near many excellent restaurants that are within walking distance. So, this works well for conference participants and/or hotel guest. Also, I understand that the shuttle will take guest to local restaurants and bars.

My biggest concern of the Embassy is the lack of staffing at the front desk. The new renovation has created three check-in stations. However, most often only one person is available. It is not unusual to wait 5-10 minutes for someone to assist a guest. Even with two people working at the front desk, the phones are constantly ringing leaving only one person to handle check-ins and to assist guests. During my two days at the hotel it was not unusual to see 5-6 waiting in line to be assisted. It is ashamed that so much money has been spent on the renovation, but staffing seems to be lacking. Also, I would suggest that if staff members promise a guest something that they follow through.

I am not sure if I will hold my conferences at this hotel again. I am a Gold Hilton Honor’s person, but I did not feel that I received any special treatment at the hotel. In the future I may try one of the other full-service hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLJ021251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
269 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is the place to stay in Des Moines. Very clean and well maintained. Best thing is the room service. Food is excellent and served hot. Only negative is that the maid didn't speak english, and she didn't understand I was asking for a plastic laundry bag. No big thing. We were at a mutual disadvantage: She didn't speak english, and I don't speak spanish. ;)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have a very nice view from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is my favorite hotel in the State of Iowa.

I'm a Hilton Gold Member and they treat HHonors members quite well.

For $150 with tax on a weekend, you get free breakfast for up to 4 (save $40) and free alcohol for a couple of hours (save $100+!).

Additionally, the suites are amazing--it's especially nice to have the living area separated from the bedroom--the living space provides a buffer for noise (even though it's not loud).

The staff is quite friendly.

The alcohol caused some to be loud in the middle of the night--but security took care of it moderately promptly and the next day the manager comped a room service fee and parking for our troubles. It was only $20 but that goes a long way, since everything else was perfection!

I'll be patronizing this hotel for as long as I am in Iowa.

Bravo, Embassy Staff--keep it up!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.0 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.9 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,716 - ₹ 21,085
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing