We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
46
65
43
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
65
43
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wells fargo arena stayed here concert night walking distance waffles nice size pool the breakfast area attending a concert front desk staff downtown des moines river walk vending machine pedestrian bridge would stay here again convenient location nice place to stay an easy drive
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice place to stay! Great location for Wells Fargo Arenia! Only problem was the restraint was closed on the only day of week we were there. Clean, nice staff. Will stay again. We had stayed there before. Always nice.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaM7391, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Jody,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We look forward to having you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

my wife and i stayed at the comfort inn and suites on 3rd street in downtown des moines, iowa for 3 days. outstanding. one of the best hotels we have stayed in. the hotel location is on the northern part of downtown, almost right next to I-235, and next to the wells fargo arena. the hotel has a large covered drive-thru for loading and unloading your car. very convenient. the hotel has 6 or 7 floors. the 2 elevators are super fast! the lobby is large and nicely decorated. our room 621 had 2 queen beds which were comfortable, with nice soft carpet, lovely bathroom with big mirror and shower(i think this may have been a handicap room). everything worked well. the internet worked seamlessly. cable tv had lots of channels. microwave and refrigerator. our room overlooked the backside of hotel. the breakfast area was very clean and neat, with abundant seating. the breakfast was better than average with eggs, sausage, waffles, oj, good coffee, yogurt, fruit. cereal, and several bread choices. we slept-in most days and were not disturbed. the staff was professional. we really enjoyed! parking is free. the river is right there, and pedestrian bridge is only 2 blocks from hotel. the hotel is on the west side of river. we walked to the ballpark, where the minor league team iowa cubs play. its a good mile or so. we wanted to avoid the $10 parking fee. would definitely recommed the comfort inn to those staying in des moines.

Room Tip: if you want a view, ask for the east facing rooms that have view of river.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank loveadeal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaM7391, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

My family and stayed at this hotel because we went to the AAU Junior Olympics. It was nice to stay close to the events center...it was only about a 2 minute walk. Very convenient!
The rooms were clean and nice. The room We had, had 2 queen beds. A little on the small size... especially for a family of 4. The first day after the tournament, our room was cleaned. After the 2nd day, we came back after 4pm and the room wasn't cleaned yet. We just wanted to relax and about 30 minutes after, then housekeeping came...but we just no thanks.

The breakfast was nothing special. The scrambled eggs comes from the carton....they are wet scrambled eggs.

The pool...well...we only went once. As soon as we walked in...our eyes were burning from the smell of chlorine. The kids stayed in the pool only for about 15 minutes and there eyes were red.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. If I stay there again, it would be because of the staff.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank RedHead123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaM7391, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff. I apologize for the pool issue, which has been take care of and interruption of the housekeepers.
We hope that you will still stay with us again if you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

The rooms were spacious and the fridge was a great addition to to rooms. The rooms were clean. Staff was helpful when we asked questions. The pool is big but I wish it had a hot tub. I liked the big breakfast area and some hot breakfast items.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank julieb1832018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaM7391, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Julie,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your accommodations. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Booking through an organization is easy at this location. Accommodations were good! Comfortable beds, free breakfast with a large selection, iced lemon water, and a large area in the lobby to gather. This location is near downtown and also an easy drive go other places in the area!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Carrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Carrie,
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will come back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews