We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 am - 1:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
An impressive and well-maintained mansion

An impressive mansion and well-maintained, and it’s nice that it’s kept open for tours of the first... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2023
aatbender
,
Dandridge, Tennessee
via mobile
Beautiful Mansion

Enjoyed the tour of this mansion and the history dating back to its completion in 1869. It is a... read more

Reviewed 21 July 2022
ellenrC9910DX
,
Jefferson City, Missouri
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
32
17
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
17
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2020 via mobile

This is a lovely home with a fascinating history. However, the tour is longer than necessary for the size of the building. Most, if not all, of the interesting information can be learned via the plaques and the video they show. I found myself getting bored waiting for the tour to move from one room to another. I’m also saddened a bit that the carriage house was modernized instead of preserved as it was originally, though I understand why that was done; I feel the sane way about the swimming pool. The highlight of the home is the magnificent stained glass. I would recommend checking it out, especially if you love old buildings, but for me it was a one-and-done experience. I don’t intend to go back for a second tour.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank RachelKWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2019

Too beautiful for words. Beautiful gardens, excellent tour guides, so much history and a Windsor in the mix no one can explain. Such a mystery! Where did she hide during the war?

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank KittyKat1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

This 150-year-old home (built in 1869) is now the governor's official residence. But they do tours and it's well worth your time. It truly is a set back in history. One suggestion: Do a bit of research on it before you go; it makes it much more meaningful that way.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2019

Whenever we visit a capital city, we always visit the state capitol building. If our days in the city coincide with tour days at the state governor's mansion, we make plans to also tour the mansion. We love the history, architecture, and art that is part of these tours as well as the opportunity to interact with locals who love their state and history.

Check the Terrace Hill website to learn of tour days and times. At the time of our travel, the fee for the mansion tour was $5 -- certainly reasonable and fine with us to pay a small fee to help maintain the beautiful, historic structure.

Prior to the tour, we took a look around the carriage house building which now houses staff, displays, and a small gift shop. An excellent video was shown as an introduction to the tour. Our excellent guide, Patty, walked with us to the mansion and imparted more details and stories about the mansion as we toured inside and out.

The day was a little rainy, and umbrellas were provided for the short walk from the carriage house to the mansion. Street parking and handicapped parking is available on Forest Drive, which is on the west side of the property. Additional parking is located in the Terrace Hill parking lot off of Grand Avenue at Forest Drive.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2018

It was like a living museum. As the residence of the governor, people actually live here and events are held in the rooms, so it's not a dusty museum. However, there is quite a bit of history to learn. Small group tours are great.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews