We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Dragon Chinese Buffet & Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 43 Restaurants in Decorah
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 20
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our buffet here on a Monday afternoon. There was a large variety of GF options as well. A sure stop for us when we're craving a good Chinese buffet!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank sabrina365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

Several friends told us food was fine. Had a look see quickly at buffet and variety looked good. But most food wasn't hot - several foods were mushy - warmed up maybe many imes. Meats were greasy. I was very disappointed. Waiter said they owned place for 4 years. I'm done. Will report to my friends also. The people were nice. No senior prices - cost approximately $9.95 each

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveFmIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This restaurant has three lines of buffet food, including ice cream and dessert, you can't go wrong, load up on what you like, and eat, eat, eat!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank cruiserinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our buffet here on a Saturday afternoon. There was even a large variety of GF options as well. A sure stop for us when we're craving a good Chinese buffet!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank sabrina365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We love Chinese food . We know the American version of Chinese food having eaten it all across the USA including in the Chinatowns of San Francisco and New York City . We do not pretend to be connoisseurs of the actual indigenous food that most native Chinese people eat at home but we , like many Americans love the periodic " fix " of the Americanized version that is served in most Chinese restaurants across the land from Arcadia , Florida to San Rafael , California .

It so happens that over the past 15 years we have eaten at The Great Dragon in Decorah , Iowa more then any other Chinese restaurant because of being part-time residents in the area . This fact has been partially a matter having no other options and partially due to the food at the China Dragon being good enough to satisfy that periodic craving.

We have to say however , that since our last visit of 10 days ago that things at the Golden Dragon have declined from passable to inedible . Our last experience was characterized by cold to lukewarm offerings at the buffet , tired dishes that were way too salty , outdated condiments , limited variety of dishes , and indifferent service . We will only return if we see evidence that the management has decided to reinvent itself in both a culinary and service sense instead of continuing down the road of offering less then mediocre fare to a clientele that doesn't seem to know the inferior quality of what their eating .

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank kunsthund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Dragon Chinese Buffet & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Great Dragon Chinese Buffet & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing