We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes we had a good time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Creston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hatfield Lakes Iowa
Reviewed 4 October 2014

We stayed at Moonlight Marian. Woke up early to hear the geese honking in the morning. The fishing was superb to say the least. I cought several large mouth bass. There great eating I must say. Cooked them right out front of the cabin with a grill provided. Nothing like eating fresh fish off the hoof. Wrap them in foil and we had a feast. Bass is 26 dollars a pound at the local HyVee. Not as fresh when you pull them right out of the lake. Then comes all the deer to frolick in the medows to take you to another planet. If they allowed shooting there I would have had me some venisan of the hoof. Not much going on in town but when you have a big family to enjoy this retreat who needs stinking town folks to ruin this vacation. Nothing not to like here. Bring your own party and there is nothing like this place. No one bothered us and we were free to do what ever popped up. Heck, I could have gone naked all week at this place and no one would see me , except the wildlife. HHHHAAA . We will be back. The only drawback on this stay is that the spiral staircase up to the bedroom was a little hard to negotiate especially if you are my age of 64. When you have to get to the bathroom down below in the middle of the night ,it could get a little diecy. Other than that I would recommend this place . Next time I want to book Big Johns cabin. The four ladies staying there were having a great time as we were. They had paddle boards to pass the time. I prefer to fish for dinner at this place. Nothing like catching a fighting ill tempered wide mouth bass to get me coming back.
Thanks to the folks that run this place. Rustic cabins Not. Rustic fun is what you get here. You want the Waldorf then go to New York. You want chef prepared meals then bring your own chef.
I for one had a great time and so will you.

Room Tip: Best book the cabins on the lake you will not be dissapointed. Take the kids, take some wine and boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank canitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2014

I'm struggling to review this property properly, but hope it will help future renters. After going back and looking at the photos and video on the website I think we probably should have known what we were getting ourselves into, but somehow we had much different expectations of Hatfield Lakes than what reality came to be. We decided, based on availability, to rent the Scott house which was really the only photo library we focused on and were looking forward to a cabin tucked into this massive wooded acreage. I think the site mentions it's like 1,000 acres or something of the sort? And it very well might be, but you should know that about 95% of it is strictly farm land. Corn. Cows. Watering holes. More cows and their accompanying odors. You get there by way of all gravel country roads. I suppose I was hoping for winding, wooded lanes that would eventually land as at our secluded little cabin in the woods. Based on the paperwork we were given, we plugged in the address and as we were passing a house that looked very similar to what I had seen of the Scott house online, I said to my husband that it might be the one. Noooooo. We both said. It's a farm house right off the road! Let's keep driving. We did find the listed address which led us to the other two houses. Still, no woods, but rather kind of through the fields and there they were side by side...very close...on a small man-made lake carved out of the same corn fields. Charming? Yes, I think. I was shocked at how close Big John's is to the other rental though. You would basically be sharing your experience with the neighbors. Not my cup of tea. But, I digress...after driving around for another 15 minutes, we drove back by the first house we spotted and sure enough, that was our cabin. Oddly, we didn't see the sign in front of it with Hatfield Lake Scott House listed right there. It faces the road and rather than being perpendicular to it which makes it easy to miss. Also, it seems it would be far easier for the owner to actually just put the address of the Scott House on the paperwork you are given, I'm still not sure why they don't do that other than they really want you to see the other two cabins and lake before finding your own.

After getting over the shock of being on a very non-wooded country, gravel road surrounded by cows and cornfields, we looked around to see how beautiful it is. It was like having our own farmhouse. The interior of the house literally looks just like the photos. As an interior designer, I was very impressed with the level of furnishings. Very upscale rustic and tastefully done. It looks like a collector lives there. Most of the furnishings were comfortable and worked well for our needs. However, even though the house sleeps 6, there's no way 6 adults could comfortably spend much time there as there is only upholstered seating for 5 in the living space. The 6th would have to sit on a dining chair. Also, while beautiful and stunning, the cowhide sofa is not all that comfy to relax on as the hairs are scratchy against your skin. A leather sofa would be so much more comfy, but I see why they chose this one. Really the only things I felt were missing were some board games (chess/checkers is provided), travel coffee mugs (for daytrips or to keep coffee warm on the porch), more luxurious pillows on the main floor bed and probably foremost any kind of comfortable seating on the huge wrap around porch. There is a large dining style table on the side porch and a wheel bench on the front, but it just seemed bizarre to me that there weren't adirondacks or rocking chairs on the front porch to take in the country views and read a book. We brought over the chairs from the fire pit, but this seems like a no brainer to us. As noted by previous reviewers, the outdoor porch area was quite dirty and the table on the side porch was actually filthy. Bummer.

We were told we would have some of a lake and gazebo view form the Scott house, but we for sure did not. We did have a view of the watering hole for the cows across the street, but that's about it. When we did head up to look at the gazebo and the attached "lake" (can these really be called lakes?) we got out of the car and started to walk toward it and were charged...seriously charged...by a large dog. We froze in fear and we have 2 dogs ourselves! What my husband thought at first to be a pitbull, was thankfully just a boxer. He circled us over and over and when we tried to ignore him he just chased us up onto the gazebo and then ran back towards what I assume to be the manager's home. Two people were outside during this time. Not one yelled to us that he was friendly or for the dog to come back or anything at all. My heart beat so hard for the whole experience, I knew I wasn't coming back to relax there. Country life may be different and your dog may be the friendliest on the planet, but when he/she comes running full force toward strangers they are going to freak out.

Finally the only other thing I'll mention that has nothing to do with the property is that Creston, the nearest town, is kind of a drag. No good restaurant (we heard there is a good farm to table place but they were closed for a private event) and not even a charming downtown to walk around. There is a great park in town that we took our chairs and a bottle of wine to and spent an afternoon and that was lovely. We visited Osceola (45 min) and that was for sure a never again trip. The highlight was Winterset and the Bridges of Madison County. Lovely town square, fairly good lunch at the Northside Cafe and a place I'm glad we went. We had dinner at a little Mexican place in Afton (15 min) that was recommended and oddly had the best pasta dish we had had in a while. Cajun chicken pasta (the chef used to work at an Italian restaurant), but the town itself was totally dicey and sad. The Iowa scenery/farmland is truly beautiful to drive through, but it felt like we had to travel far and wide to just grab a decent bite to eat or a coffee. City slickers, I guess.

So, do go here for a relaxing slice of country living or to reconnect with friends and family. Do not expect much to happening anywhere around the cabin and do not expect a wooded retreat with the style of lakes (even tiny ones) you would find in Wisconsin or Minnesota. Go through the website thoroughly and take the pictures at face value. Had we done that, frankly, we probably wouldn't have spent $300/night to go there, but somehow I'm glad we ended up there anywhere. Weird.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank jradport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I took my nephews and a few of their friends to Hatfield lakes from March 27-31 2013 and they had a blast! We stayed in the Big John Cabin with plenty of room. Without internet and TV the boys still had a blast and didn't miss any of it. If you love outdoors, this place is for you! My 16 year old nephew told me it was the best vacation ever and my 18 year old nephew said it was a trip of a lifetime! Mark, I can't thank you enough for working with us with any little detail we needed. We are so happy you provide such a great place for people to enjoy quality time together. There is SOOO much property to explore you will never get bored. Hatfield Lakes is a step above the rest!!! Thanks again Hatfield Lakes!! :)

Room Tip: Big John Cabin is right beside a lake, Stott house is about a quarter mile walk to the nearest lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Puck207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

From the moment my family and I step foot on the property until we left we shared much needed quality get away time!
I read some previous posts and I am not sure why people are expecting a fully staffed 5 star hotel when they are renting cabins. If you are expecting this, I would go elsewhere.
We had no problems. The cabin was beautiful, well stocked, and clean. The lake and gazebo were beautiful. It was a lovely location and best of all there were no people around to bother us.
I would definitely recommend Hatfield Lakes to anyone seeking a great relaxing get away!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rees101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark m, Manager at Hatfield Lakes Iowa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for staying with us as always! We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had the groupon situation that was purchased for a charity event with wine, fishing gear and a two night stay. We booked Big John Cabin and it is a very nice log cabin with excellent furnishings and a nice view of the larger lake. The wooden stump sinks are not only very cool artwork, but quite functional as well. Wildlife is very abundant around the area and geese wake you up in the morning, but we liked the seclusion. The wine never existed and the fishing gear is no where to be found (so bring your own!). We had brought our own fishing gear and bait so no worries there. The gazebo is nice and it was cold this first weekend in October so having the heat in the gazebo was needed. The fishing was excellent and the bluegill and bass are very large and pretty easy to catch. I wonder how long the good fishing will last since if fish are not taken out of the lake, the population usually suffers in the long run. Mark replied to my emails and did call me once, but was in a rush to get off the phone for some reason. I thought that was different. We did read the information booklet in the cabin and learned that they will no longer be accepting anything but 14 day long reservations during the 2013 season. That is disappointing as I think we would have possibly returned for a 2 night stay. However, I don't think there is enough of a variety of activities available for us to stay for 14 days. I guess the weekend getaway market is one they do not wish to serve any longer.

Room Tip: Big John Cabin and Moonlight Marion are on the lake. Geese like to hang out and honk in front of Bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark m, Owner at Hatfield Lakes Iowa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

So glad you stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future!!

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hatfield Lakes Iowa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatfield Lakes Iowa

Address: 3300 Riverside Ave # 3346, Creston, IA 50801-7513
Region: United States > Iowa > Creston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Creston
Price Range: ₹ 10,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatfield Lakes are located on 1000 acres of private lakes, farmland and fabulous wooded fields. We have PRIVATE FISHING....14 lakes and ponds, on the Hatfield estate. We have hundreds of acres to hike, and view wildlife..... Fishing is the best...bass, blue gill and walleye. We have two fabulous LOG CABINS .....The Stott Log Cabin and the New Big John Log Cabin. The STOTT LOG CABIN - 110 year old log lake view cabin, has been restored using logs, & hand hewn beams. The 3 bedroom vintage home is furnished with cowboy/lodge art and decor, fireplace & antler chandeliers.The BIG JOHN LOG CABIN ....located LAKEFRONT. The 2 bedroom log cabin features dramatic vaulted log beamed ceilings and walls. The cabin is furnished with log furnishings, western/wildlife art, fireplace. EACH OF THE ROOMS & VERANDAH ARE LAKEFRONT.....right on the lake.The GAZEBO, with wrap-around decks, fireplace, windmill & waterwheel, is situated WITHIN AND ON TOP OF THE LAKE . Guests can also fish from the FISHING BRIDGE!HATFIELD LAKES, is the site of programs filmed by John McLaughlin (KCCI - Des MoInes) for sporting and fishing channels. HATFIELD LAKES is the Ultimate & Private FISHING RETREAT! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing