We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Council Bluffs IA Omaha NE Area
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
Reviewed 8 August 2007

Let's just begin by saying I'm no high-maintenance traveler. My primary goals for this evening's stay were accessibility to the highway, a bed and shower at a reasonable price. This hotel failed miserably.
The evening receptionist was very flippant, bordering on rudeness as 'redaunt' has experience. The hallway reeked of smoke, seemingly from cleaning staff smoking in their laundry room - despite it being a non-smoking block of rooms. Our "first floor" room was in actuality a basement room. It was dark, dank, and smelled of mold to the point it made me mildly nauseas. The carpet was damp, so walking to or from the bathroom without shoes on was unbelievably gross. The shower never really became comfortably warm, parking lot size was insufficient, the shower never got "hot" and filled instead of drained, the "complimentary breakfast" tasted horrible, and the check out staff in the morning was even more cold and indifferent than the night staff.
Considering I've stayed in $5 hostels in europe that seemed a 4-star resort compared to this Super 8, it was a complete rip-off at $67.

  • Liked — proximity to the highway
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank djmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    57
    63
    43
    54
See reviews for
84
62
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow Mills, MO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2007

Was OK but nothing to get excited about. It's listed as one of the better Super 8s in thier book, but I didn't see it. It sits next to several truck stops which having been a driver, didn't bother me but it just didn't seem as clean as I would have expected. Front desk person was friendly.

I wouldn't recomend for families, but not a bad place.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Truckertaxman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

For the money, it was not worth it. The hotel is old and very out-dated, the room was clean but again outdated and had a funky odor to it. The staff upon check in were fine, but the next morning from about 9am until we left the housekeeper knocked on our door about every 20 minutes which was completely uncalled for and consequently did not allow for a restful stay. Check out was at 11:00am, and as we were getting ready to leave our room at 11:15am, someone knocked on our door and VERY RUDELY informed us that she "NEEDED US OUT NOW, because the housekeeper needed to get done.". Considering the fact that my room rent pays this person's wages, I felt it was completely inappropriate to speak in such a way to a guest. I work at a hotel as a desk clerk, and I can honestly say that if myself or another employee spoke to a guest in such a manner we would be fired, no questions asked. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Liked — Nothing other than it's location.
  • Disliked — The absolute lack of customer service.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2007

If all you need is a sorta clean room to lay your weary body in... this will do.

Rooms are small, dingy and in need of updating. Bathroom is very small.

Breakfast is minimal... Strong smell of cigarettes and wet dog permeates the lobby as the hotel staff smoke and have their dogs in the lobby.

Helpful?
2 Thank cpopken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
1.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.3 km away
Best Western Crossroads Of The Bluffs
Best Western Crossroads Of The B...
#11 of 24 in Council Bluffs
432 reviews
3.0 km away
Days Inn Council BLUFFS/9TH Ave
Days Inn Council BLUFFS/9TH Ave
#19 of 24 in Council Bluffs
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Countryside Inn & Suites Council Bluffs IA
Countryside Inn & Suites Council...
#15 of 24 in Council Bluffs
186 reviews
2.7 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Omaha - Council Bluffs
Red Roof Inn & Suites Omaha - Co...
#14 of 24 in Council Bluffs
195 reviews
3.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Quality Inn & Suites Council Blu...
#18 of 24 in Council Bluffs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Council Bluffs IA Omaha NE Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Council Bluffs IA Omaha NE Area

Property: Super 8 Council Bluffs IA Omaha NE Area
Address: 2712 S 24th St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-6949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,110 - ₹ 6,742
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Council Bluffs IA Omaha NE Area 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will be newly renovated by May 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Council Bluffs IA Omaha NE Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Super 8 Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Super Eight
Council Bluffs Super 8
Super Eight Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing