We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little less that I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little less that I expected”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The room was fair sized and I have stayed in this area of town before. However, there are better values. The room was clean and the a/c was working. My complaints would be that the breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. The bed was like a taco, my wife and I kept rolling towards the center, and last you better like pets, There were dogs and cats all over the place. Now I have nothing against animals, but everyone who ownes a pet should not assume that I am a pet lover too!!!! There is a great hotel for pets - it's called a kennel!

Room Tip: Ask for one that pets have not been in, if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBR0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    160
    101
    60
    30
See reviews for
227
100
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Rating is average in fairness to my rated above average hotels, where sometimes you do get what you pay for ( location as well ). Having said that, the staff was very, very pleasant. Reasonably priced and very convenient off Hwy 80. King bed was comfy, room clean.. Small bathroom and little sink area. I was traveling alone, so I did not mind. Breakfast was usual continental in a clean area. Waffles,some eggs, then all cereals, yogurt, fruit etc Definitely recommend for a quick stop if on a long drive..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was our first stay at a La Quinta. My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night with our 55lb dog while driving across the country. We were given a room on the 3rd floor, which surprised me, as I thought pet rooms were usually on the first floor, but it meant our dog got to have her first elevator ride. The room was spotless and you would never know it if a pet had previously stayed in the room. The room appeared updated, featuring a flat screen tv and electrical outlets everywhere (i.e. in the base of the lamps next to the bed) - perfect for charging our cell phones and laptops. The toilet and shower were behind a locked door; the sink and vanity were just outside the bathroom door. We ordered take out from nearby El Rodeo Mexican restaurant (within walking distance) for dinner. In the morning we used the fitness center before breakfast. It was small, but nice - featuring a treadmill, stationary bike, and stair climber, all newer models. The fitness center had a large flat screen tv, and a sink with washcloths/towels. The breakfast spread included 2 waffle makers, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fruit salad, bagels/toast/cereal, fruit juices, and coffee, and all the seating in the breakfast area appeared updated and with electrical outlets available at several of the tables.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollywaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralston, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We visited with kids and found this to be our better hotel bargain of all our Des Moines trips. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool to chase away the winter blues, we all loved the complimentary breakfast. Kids loved making their own fresh waffles and having choice of juices with their muffins. It was easy to access off the exit and had plenty of restaurants, shopping and entertainment within close drive. We unpacked our cooler in the fridge, started up a microwave popcorn and settled into the Showtime movie playing on the flatscreen. Quite a relaxing weekend without any hassles. We've paid more elsewhere and gotten less. It's our new favorite.

Room Tip: We had the room right next to the pool. Easy access for little ones wanting to go swimming but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranmaLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.4 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
269 reviews
0.4 km away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Address: 1390 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,416 - ₹ 10,058
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Des Moines/West-Clive Hotel Clive
La Quinta Des Moines
Des Moines La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing