We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely suitable value priced lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Completely suitable value priced lodging”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The location of this property is very convenient. It is literally right off the freeway with a lot of eating choices right nearby.

The parking lot was ample and, or course, free. The reception area wasn't much to speak of, but you can't expect a hotel like the La Quinta to be a Westin. The gal at the front desk was friendly and quick.

The property itself shows some wear and tear around the edges, but it really isn't too bad. It is kept up. It is just that you can tell the place wasn't built yesterday.

My room was a king bed room on the 3rd floor in the back of the hotel. The room was clean and fair sized. I was worried that it might have dog hair in it or smell like a dog since the La Quinta is so pet friendly, but I did not even find one single pet hair.

The bathroom showed a bit of wear and tear with a cracked shower rod and a couple of cracked tiles. The bed was very comfortable and I slept just fine. There was a big flat panel TV in the room.

The place was very quiet and I only saw one pooch the time I was there. I love dogs so seeing more would not of bothered me. They did have a pool and a fitness area, but I did not check them out. They also had a free computer and printer in the lobby which was nice.

The breakfast was what one would expect in a value priced establishment. Waffles, hard boiled eggs, cererals and juice and a few other items.

I only paid $40 so my review is written with that in mind. I feel that it was a very good value and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trm684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    156
    95
    56
    29
See reviews for
215
95
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Actually better than I expected after reading the various reviews here and on other sites. First of all the lobby was clean and gave a first good impression. There was no smoke in the air nor any smell of pets, which I think I read in some other reviews. The non-smoking double room looks to have been modernized not too long ago but there are still some dings and marks on the walls. The LCD was nice as was the HD channels. Internet is free. I didn't use the wireless access but rather plugged at CAT5 cable into the wireless router in the room. (for security purposes). It's free but download speeds were less than 1MB/s and so was the upload speed (which is on par with most residential upload speeds anyway). No overt evidence of stains on the carpet. All basic convenience articles were present (coffee, soap, etc). Comforters weren't the thickest but they looked clean since they were white. All light bulbs worked and so did the remote control to the TV) (yes, small things but when they don't work, you call it out). Receptionist was nice too. Even better we got this through Priceline and saved a bunch. This hotel is a great place to stay for the night and passing through town. Gas stations and a good variety of restaurants were close by. I'd stay here again if I can get the same rate with my Priceline bid.

Room Tip: I Priceline'd and got a great non smoking double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
320 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The regular room slept 5 with a rollaway. The staff is friendly and the location, right off I80 is super-convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln NE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Hotel is conveniently located off of I-80. Friendly staff, room was average in general. They had a nice continental breakfast in the morning. Lots of pets around which didn't bother us, and the hotel was quiet. Good place for a quick overnight stay while traveling.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is nothing special. I stayed in a room, not a suite. There was refrigerator and microwave. Staff was friendly. Many, many dogs stay here. Room was clean, and shower was warm and strong. I stayed here after I found the nearby Chase Suites uninhabitable.

Room Tip: Go for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.4 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
258 reviews
0.4 km away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Address: 1390 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,469 - ₹ 10,170
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Des Moines/West-Clive Hotel Clive
La Quinta Des Moines
Des Moines La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing