We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay on Kangaroo Island...”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
George M
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay on Kangaroo Island - wilderness experience with modern comforts”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Brian gave extremely clear instructions (and a hand drawn map!) on how to find the Dune escape. The home is lovely, well furnished and beautifully built in the midst of wilderness, but quite easily accessible (15min drive) to Kingscote town.

The Wallaby Run path leading up to the home is just as impressive as the Flinders Chase national park in the amount of wildlife we saw on the road from Wallabies, Kangaroos to Echidnas.

The internet was fast, firewood plenty, BBQ handy and water and electricity consistent. We appreciate every single aspect of this home, and had a brilliant family reunion. Brian is a lovely man, warm and friendly. The tips he gave on places to see around were brilliant.

Absolutely recommend this place for anyone visiting Kangaroo Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you so much George and family - we really appreciate your review and all the points of interest you highlighted. It was a pleasure to meet your lovely family and we wish you all the very best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach house on Kangaroo Island-Dune escape is paradise for nature lovers”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Dune Escape was a destination in itself. We loved the location, privacy (our nearest neighbors were the kangaroos and wallabies), beautiful views from all windows, solar powered, nicely furnished, complete kitchen, wrap around deck, stunning view from the cliff top, beach access, quality linens, fast speed internet, and light and relaxing color scheme. Just a 15 minute drive from Kingscote for groceries or a meal. Go to Seal Bay and Flinders National Park early to avoid tour groups and be able to enjoy the natural beauty in solitary splendor. Would recommend a week's stay to really see the island alternating days of hanging out at Dune Escape relaxing, walking/swimming the secluded beach at Emu Bay with days of exploring the coastal splendor of Kangaroo Island. Kris and Brian were very accommodating hosts and provided good information about things to do on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, quiet and beach access.
Liked least: Everything was perfect...even better than expected.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you so much Kathy and Don- we loved that you embraced nature and really discovered all that Kangaroo Island has to offer - thanks for also appreciating our holiday house - we love it too! We hope to see you or your friends again sometime - all the best for 2016 - Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlarson17
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A private little slice of heaven in KI”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were fortunate to stay at the Dune Escape for 2 nights. The location is absolutely stunning. We were aware the the property was near the beach but did not expect the incredible ocean views of a secluded Emu bay just steps from the house. The beach is perfect to walk along, and calm and warm for swimming. The track down from the dune might be too steep for young kids or those with mobility issues, but it was perfect for us! The home was spotless and well equipped. Make sure to do your food shopping on mainland and bring supplies with you (including all toiletries and beach towels - which we forgot!) as the location is a bit remote and things are expensive on the island. We saw tons of kangaroos and enjoyed the stunning sunsets. Brian was super responsive and great to communicate with. He kindly arranged a private surf lesson for us with some of his friends. We had a blast. Thanks so much Brian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: No soap/shampoo/conditioner or bath towels
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thank you Jacqueline
What a wonderful review, we are so glad you loved our beach house and had such an enjoyable holiday. We love that ocean view everyday also! We are so glad you enjoyed the surf lesson.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca S
1 review
“A perfect house in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Brian and Kris are open and warm, and provide excellent advice about what to do on the island. The house is tasteful, yet functional and equipped with everything you could possibly need. The beach just below the house was almost deserted while we were there (in peak season), and we were fortunate enough to have roos hooping around the garden almost every day. The island is beautiful with plenty of activities for all ages.

Having stayed there, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thank you Bianca and family. It was great to meet you all and we really appreciate your complimentary review. You were a delight to host.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie V
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
“Fabulous stay in a dream home!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We highly recommend a Dune escape to everyone. It is perfectly located, clean, spacious, with a beautiful view and access to the beach! FABULOUS!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you Magalie for your wonderful review, you are a beautiful fun loving family and it was a pleasure to meet and host you - all the best for your travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing