We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I wish all rentals were this beautiful and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
macgrej68
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I wish all rentals were this beautiful and peaceful.”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I only wish we had stayed longer! The location was perfect for us, because we would be visiting other areas of the island early in the day, and then chill out in this peaceful setting in the evening. I just wish that we would have had a day or two to just enjoy this house. There is so much to love about this place- the views, the wood stove ( now I want one just like it for our home!), the furniture, the deck, the expansive windows that bring the outside in, the bathroom, just everything. You need to have a car (Budget at the airport and ferry was perfect), and you have to bring your own hair dryer. We stayed in many places in Australia, but none were even close to this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was the best, seriously!
Liked least: No internet or hair dryer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2015
Thank you for your fabulous review - we were so happy to see that it was perfect for you - we can supply a hair dryer upon request - we just like to talk about solar power before we supply heating items
Happy travelling and big cheers from Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“One of the best places in Australia”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The place is absolutely stunning and we were sad to leave. The house is very neat, clean and cosy, and the surrounding is just picturesque. It is quite isolated which we loved but conveniently located with lots of wildlife around - just ideal. We loved every moment of our stay at A Dune Escape and we will be definitely back. Brian has been helpful since the beginning what made our stay even more memorable. It is one of the most beautiful accommodations we went to. Highly recommend!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Thank you Karolina - we are so glad you loved everything at A Dune Escape. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to your return - we are always listening to guests and constantly upgrading so it will be even better next time:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howieloui...
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Absolutely loved this place the serenity and beautiful location was truly great! Will defiantly be returning and recommending to all my friends

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Thank you for your appreciation of all that we offer- we look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah K
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful holiday with our little family!”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a wonderful holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at A Dune Escape!
Beautiful house surrounded by nature... The kids played happily (and safely) in the surrounding garden making the most of clambering up and down the sand dunes and looking out for wallaby's. Lovely deck area and BBQ for entertaining. The house itself is very well looked after, it is evident that Brian and Kris are meticulous with every detail. Quality linen used on all the beds, great kitchen set up with quality appliances/cookware, even offering us a baby bath for our little one and a free washing service should we have needed it!
We will be back again for sure!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Thank you so much - we really value your comments especially coming from your business of interior decor :)
We have just had a make-over of the garden so it looks great now with some Yukka palms etc. We are so glad you had a fun holiday with your children and we really look forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodiMey
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wish we were there longer...”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We managed to get 2 nights stay at Dune escape, and it was the highlight of our stay on KI. We fell in love with the beach at Emu Bay- what a beautiful, secluded gem. And the house too! It is an immaculate property, and the dune lookout is the perfect place to enjoy a sunset cheese and wine (local of course!) Dune Escape is one of those holiday homes that make you wish you could just have a few more days...and then a few more days..!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words - we are so glad you loved the beach as we do and the house was just what you needed - we have travelled a lot and tried to provide the best of all that we have loved. We hope to see you return again for longer - cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing