We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the most amazing places we have ever stayed”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Youngsat
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing places we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at A Dune Escape in mid-December and it was as close to perfection as we could have hoped to find. The house is beautiful - quiet, secluded, wonderful views inland and extremely comfortable and well equipped. And the jewel in the crown lies just up a short flight of steps - the view out over Emu Bay. The beach is stunning and we often had it to ourselves. To have beautiful safe swimming just a short walk away was a dream. And there was so much to do on the island - kangaroos and wallabies in the garden every day, swimming with wild dolphins from Emu Bay, and the rest of the island within easy reach by car. Our family of four (two children of 10 and 8) could have happily stayed on and on and on...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach and the beautiful house
Liked least: Can't think of anything, it was that good!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Wow that sounds like it really hit the spot! Thank you so much for this wonderful review - we are really happy you were able to appreciate all that we have worked hard on to provide for our guests - it is a special place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KneellocK
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful escape!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We loved staying at the Dune Escape! We would recommend it to a friend for sure! It was such a nice change of pace to have a house to ourselves mid-way through a vacation. I think house rental is the best way to go on Kangaroo Island. It's the perfect spot for relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of house and having a home to ourselves.
Liked least: The steps down to the beach were a bit scary and we had to ask for beach towels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Escape and relax is what we have to offer - so glad you were able to enjoy this and we welcome your return some day :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jexy05
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Peaceful, relaxing & wonderful piece of paradise”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

WOW! What a setting! Absolute serenity. Lovely, clean and modern comfortable house. Peaceful surroundings. A few steps up the dune to a magnificant view of emu bay beach.
Highly recommended. A piece of paradise we hope to visit and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable, modern, clean and location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Thank you for your glowing review - we would be very glad to have you again as our guests - we are constantly listening to guest comments and always improving our product :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
Mount Waverley, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Delight”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautifully appointed beach house, perfectly located and set up with thought given to comfort and style. Excellent communications and helpful information about places of interest before and during our stay. Great for families and/or couples. Are more than happy to recommend to our friends and family, and gladly return ourselves.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Thank you for your great review - we are so glad you enjoyed all that we have taken care to offer in the way of quality furnishings and linen etc. along with the personal touch passing on our local knowledge :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raandaka
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Special memories made in this exceptionally appointed house in idyllic location”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

While we only had a two night stay at A Dune Escape together with visiting German family, it was perfect in every way for us as two couples and made for very special memories. From the moment we drove up to the secluded location amongst the bush land behind the dune, it was WOW... The house was exceptionally well appointed, very tastefully decorated, the series of glass doors on two sides of the house opening to the spacious decking areas and big picture windows taking in the lovely and varied views all around, it was obvious the attention to detail, planning and thoughtfulness that has gone into creating this eco-friendly haven. A gourmet kitchen adjacent to the open plan living and dining areas, luxurious bathroom, separate toilet, very comfortable beds and then there was the seating area at the crest of the dune just a few steps behind the deck, a perfect place for a glass of wine at sunset, a coffee at sunrise, stargazing at night or just lazing about at any time overlooking the wide long white beach with crystal clear blue water. A couple minutes walk down the dune steps onto that beautiful beach for swimming or long walks, even seals and penguins around the rocky point at the far end of Emu Bay Beach. Mist hanging low in the valley in the mornings, kangaroos and wallabies in the bushland garden each evening and morning... In addition, the owners were very helpful, welcoming and thoughtful from the outset of the first enquiry months before to the day of our departure. A perfect place to relax and take it all in and with close proximity to so many attractions for day trips and the services of Kingscote. Very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you so much - we are humbled by your review! - We are so glad it was just perfect for you in all ways and you have made such great memories. The sun deck is our favourite place too - so many colours of blue in the skies and ocean hey - always changing:) We look forward to your return some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing