We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has gone downhill fast”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Constantine, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has gone downhill fast”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family lives within an hour from South Bend and visit Notre Dame a few times a year. We have been staying at the Quality Inn for about 5 years now and have been watching it age for the past couple of years, but when we went last weekend we were horrified. Not only were the cosmetic issues (paint, carpet) worse, but there was a piece of wood with a nail sticking out of it that had fallen off the wall in the hot tub area where people are walking around with no shoes. There were 2 different pool parties for little kids that night and because there was NO staff to be found anywhere in the building for hours, they didn't know that there were about 30 kids unsupervised in the pool. The pool area was filthy even before all the kids showed up, the floors looked like they haden't been mopped for quite some time, and they were continually out of towels. My husband found a piece of pizza in one of the video games (again,before the party) and the rest of them barely worked. We found out Gipper's lounge was closed hours after we checked in, even though it was still listed on the website. Our room was too hot to sleep in and found others sleeping in the fundome because they were too hot (but have had this problem at other hotels this time of year) When we went down for breakfast it was completely empty except for cereal, but as we were realizing this someone was going to get someone from the front desk. She was not very happy about doing her job, but she was the only person on staff that wasn't smiling and helpful. We had reservations there for the Notre Dame Spring Game, but I am cancelling those and have found a room down the road. Maybe new management isn't always good.

Room Tip: When we stayed, we always specified atrium rooms, otherwise you will have to walk across the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishfans78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    18
    20
    81
See reviews for
62
16
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is very nasty and dirty. The room smelt like mold, the doors dont latch unless you slam yourself into them. There were dead rolly polly bugs on the bathroom floor. Staff was not friendly. This place should not even be open for business!! think the health department needs to make a visit, they would run away!

Room Tip: dont stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Bend hotels

South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

As a truck driver, I get sent to alot of hotels during my travels. this was my first trip to South Bend and I must say I was glad to hear Quality Inn offered a shuttle to pick me up from the terminal. This was around the time of a snow storm that hit the city. I was a little cautious about how well the driver would do transporting me back to the hotel, But to my surprise the gentleman (I believe his name was PJ) that picked me up was very friendly and knew how to handle the roads in this condition. He was a safe driver and and very knowledgable about the area. The staff at this hotel are wonderful. Very pleasent ladies at the desk & i had a good expierence here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We overnighted here on our way back to the East Coast from Minnesota. This hotel has seen better days. The "fun dome" (what must have once been a large indoor playground) looks like the set of a horror movie, and we literally needed to body slam the door of our first room to get into it (we ended up changing b/c it was a smoking room). That said...the room where we eventually stayed was surprisingly comfortable, the staff were friendly and the the pool and fitness center looked nice. Also the hotel is near lots of restaurants and other attractions. And they allow pets. Bottom line: the place is fine for a short stay, or if you don't plan on spending much time hanging out there during the day. But don't expect the Ritz...

Room Tip: Ask for a room close the lobby -- the complex is huge (and mostly empty).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanW329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Cooper_GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dan W,

Thank you for your review of our hotel – feedback, both positive and negative is always welcome.

The Hotel has recently undergone a management change and the vision is to restore the property to its previous condition (glory?) As with any change, this will not happen overnight – we are starting with the basics, room condition and staff training, and are beginning to address other improvement areas. We are especially grateful that you recognized our efforts with positive comments about our rooms and staff. Please be assured that we are working to improve in other areas (physical plant, general aesthetics, etc).

We welcome you to stay with us again if you are in the area.

Thank you for your review.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

ive reviewed several of the comments for this hotel and I must say some are right, but most are incorrect. My husband or myself stay here at least once a week. All of the staff is friendly and by all, I mean from the front desk staff to the maintance department. Any time an issue occurs, they dont hesitate to make it correct. The property is a bit old but the friendliness of the staff is the reason why we come back, and will continue to. My favorite person to see is Amber, one of the newer desk clerks. She welcomes us with an outstanding smile and great attitude, everytime! Steve is also great and has a wonderful personality. Im excited this place is getting back on their feet and the improvments are needed. I dont have anything negitive to say about this hotel. The staff is honest and make us comfortable.

Room Tip: Pick the middle building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites University Area
0.4 km away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
1.0 km away
Quality Inn South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
#20 of 29 in South Bend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 515 N Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3315 (Formerly Baymont South Bend)
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University (South Bend) Hotel South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
University Quality Inn
South Bend Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing