We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveller rating
466
288
127
60
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
288
127
60
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree parking garage river view century center joseph river great hotel cookies convention center art museum central location downtown area wedding reception notre dame within walking distance breakfast buffet business trip this past weekend
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Staff are friendly and helpful. The facilities are very clean and in good condition. I found the temperature control difficult to use in terms of achieving a consistent level of comfort. The exercise facility is a bit limited, but better than most. The area has great opportunities for outdoor exercise as well as nightlife and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank marknG2081RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The rooms were not very large for the price. They were dull as well. The family stayed there for my wedding weekend and I would have hoped for a bridal surprise in our room (or at least mine as the bride). There was floss in the sink and hair.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. Your feedback is extremely important to us as we continuously strive to improve upon our hotel and services. We regret to hear that we failed to meet your expectations, and we hope to have the opportunity to make amends. We would be grateful to have the chance to speak to you in person. Please contact me directly at 574-245-7259. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

They gave us an upgraded room and free breakfast, hotel was really clean and the iron and ironing board was nice. Also they had legitimate blow dryers which was a plus. Every staff member was also nice

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 782sierrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This is a great hotel located in downtown South Bend. The rooms are clean and the shower is HOT. The check-in and check-out process is easy. The staff is friendly. The warm cookie is warm and delicious. The breakfast buffet, which was included in my rate, included your typical breakfast staples like eggs, bacon, potatoes, muffins and fruit. If you travel, you know how difficult it can be to find fresh fruit.

My only recommendation is to ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the river. The river isn’t particularly special looking, but it is better than an interior view of the other hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelindaJ770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We booked about 25 rooms for a hockey trip. There were several teams in the hotel and our kids were well behaved. We know this because we were watching them the entire time.

So, the kids wanted to play a game of knee hockey, basically a one foot long stick, kids on knees, with a foam ball in an open area way away from everyone in front of a bank behind the hotel. Although they were being observed by us the entire time, they were told no and that all 20 of our kids should do this game in their hotel rooms.

We always try to find kid friendly hotels and this is definitely not one of them. Before booking, we were told by the lady who handled our rooms that the kids could play in the area behind the hotel, so long as they stayed out of the hallways. She lied to us.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joelclaycomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your review of your stay at our DoubleTree by Hilton in South Bend. We regret to hear that your stay was negatively impacted by restricting the use of our public space for your activity. Your feedback is vital to us as we continuously strive to improve upon our guest experience at DoubleTree. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews