We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Small Scale Zoo”
Review of Potawatomi Zoo

Potawatomi Zoo
Ranked #7 of 53 things to do in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Small Scale Zoo”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Really small Zoo. But it is clean and well laid out. Most of the animals seemed contented. Not the Anteater....It paced alot. This is a good added on to a visit to Notre Dame, Silver Hawks game or Amish Country. Columbus Zoo member an got a discount.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Airbundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    84
    35
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Prairie,IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A day at the zoooooooo”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

clean and the selection of animals was very good. The staff were all very friendly. The park across the street is a nice place for a picnic.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had some extra time in SB and decided to take in the city zoo...what a nice surprise...The staff (including student volunteers) were very friendly and knowledgeable. The facility clean and well laid out. The animals seemed very well cared for. We were lucky enough to be near the lions when they woke up from a nap with tremendous roars which excited several other cages around the zoo...it was fun to just listen to the other animals perk up at the sound of the lions. A fun few hours with the family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an hour at the zoo”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Really bummed after taking two small children to this zoo. As usual, many animals were missing from their habitat. While I had planned a fun trip, the children were so unimpressed we made it through in one hour. We live in the area and go about every other year. Every year I hope for a an exciting day, but alas, the same boring zoo. The habitats are not attractive and the animals residing here are not the ones children hope to see. I understand small towns have small zoos, but Potowatomi is not worth the time. My daughter wanted to see the butterfly exhibit and since it was an additional charge I said "no." Did not want to spend more money and be be more disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kihapmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The membership is worth it”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

If you have kids and live in or near South Bend, this is a great place for a family outing. It's a pretty good zoo, with lions, jaguars, penguins, otters, pelicans, alligators, and more. Even a petting zoo with goats. And a small train that does a circuit of the zoo, which is a favorite among toddlers. Wish they had a better eatery. But a great way to spend a weekend afternoon. We come here about once a month and find the membership well worth it. Also a good way to entertain visitors like extended family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bvnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potawatomi Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Potawatomi Zoo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing