We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hotel.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Petersburg, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

1st of all, I would like to say this hotel is smelly!!!! From the minute you walk in you can smell dirty pool water and mold. I called for an early check in and the girl assured me, it was all good. They gave us a room on the 2nd floor. When we opened the door, the room had not been cleaned from the previous occupants. We then got moved to the 1st floor by the pool area. The smell of the pool and hot tub was horrible. Our new room had no towels. When I went to ask for more, they said, "they are in the washer, come back in an hour". Unacceptable!!!!. They did end up giving us bath mats to dry off with. There was a layer of green mold in the bottom of the hot tub and the pool water was disgusting. The hotel was so noisy, that we got very little sleep. I was overcharged on my bill and it is yet to be corrected..... I would never ever stay here again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisjkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    9
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
10
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed there to attend a family funeral and the guest service was great. Rooms were nice and had a home sweet home feeling.
Free coffee, free laundry, and great guest services.
Just a great place in all.
The staff worked with our family and gave us a great reasonable rate we could all afford.
I would definately reccomend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Maybe it was bad luck on my part, 3 rooms, 3 issues.
First room smelled of mold. Moved me next door, same smell.
Moved me down stairs, heat did not work well.. never got above 67 degrees.
That being said. I will find another hotel to stay in while in Southbend

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob-stroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Bend hotels

Northeast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This hotel must have a lot of smoking rooms. The third floor hallway was so smokey, I felt as though I was choking. Our room said "nonsmoking" on the room number outside the door, but there was an ash tray in the room and the room smelled as though a smokers' convention had just been held in it. They brought in an "ionizer" to clean the air which required us to leave for an hour (at 10:00 p.m. with two young children). It didn't help the smell. I woke up with laryngitis. We asked to be moved in the morning and they gave us keys at 8:00 a.m. for a room on the first floor. (Why couldn't they have given us this room the night before -- it was obviously available??)

The back of the throw pillow on the bed had a big smear of dried mucus. They should not use decorative pillows in hotel rooms, since they don't change them out between guests.

Breakfast is not included, which makes them compare unfavorably with similar properties.

But the biggest change that this hotel needs is to go all non-smoking.

The neighborhood is a little sketchy. There always seemed to be people crossing Lincolnway late at night -- not in crosswalks. Very close to the airport, but it's much better to stay closer to the university.

Room Tip: If you are unlucky enough to win a room here via Priceline, call ahead to the hotel directly and tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyWorlders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
I'm sorry to hear about your experience during your stay with us. Our 3rd floor is our designated smoking floor however there are non smoking rooms on that floor as well. I agree with you completely, we should consider going 100% non smoking. As a non smoker, I completely understand where your coming from! I would like to offer you my sincerest apology and I thank you for taking your time to write a review.

Ken Herman
General Manager
Candlewood Suites - South Bend Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My boyfriend and I flew to south bend for the first time to see a ND game. I had requested a nonsmoking room because my boyfriend has bad asthma. We got there and the room was nice, but it smelled like someone just got done smoking in there! We asked to be moved to another room that didn't smell like smoke. They moved us but we no longer had the king size bed we requested and the room still smelled like smoke. And on top of that there was dog hair EVERY WHERE on the top comforter. I also was woken up by a very loud train going by ea night we stayed. I realized there isn't too many hotel choices in south bend but those are things I shouldn't have to even worry about.
Also they do not have a shuttle that can take you to the airport. Any hotel I've stayed at near an airport has hotel shuttles that can take you to the airport and just because it's game weekend the taxis all over charge you. You have to pay $15 per a person to ride to any place you want,
Just to get to the hotel from the airport, theb picked up again to go to ND campus we were charged sixty dollars!! (the hotel is like a mile away from the airport!)
I was better off renting a car for the amount we spent on taxis

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpshasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 km away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#9 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.7 km away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
5.5 km away
Comfort Suites University Area
5.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
Address: 3916 Lincoln Way W, South Bend, IN 46628-1247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,780 - ₹ 10,821
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Bend Hotel Features Great Location and Deluxe Amenities. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, centrally located in South Bend, Indiana. Our extended stay hotel is conveniently located near both I-80 and I-90 and the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). Leisure travelers enjoy the numerous attractions that are close to our hotel, including the world-renowned University of Notre Dame that is just a short four mile drive. Other local attractions close to the hotel include the South Bend Chocolate Factory-5 mi, the Studebaker National Museum-3 mi, University Park Mall-10 mi, the Potawatomi Zoo-12 mi, and downtown South Bend- 2 mi. Our South Bend hotel's location is ideal for corporate housing. Businesses within five miles of the hotel include South Bend Memorial Hospital, Eaton Corp, FedEx, Honeywell and the U.S. Army Reserve. The South Bend Convention Center is also just a few miles from our hotel in downtown South Bend. Guests lodging in our hotel can enjoy a cozy extended stay. Our hotel's amenities include fully equipped kitchens (including full size refrigerators, microwave, stove top, toaster, coffee maker, dishes and cookware),fitness center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store, Lending Locker, complimentary laundry services, gazebo and grill area. On your next visit to South Bend, whether for an extended stay or relocation, discover our great South Bend hotel's deals. We'll welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing