We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Tour of Menno-Hof Musium

Lots of information make sure to plan on a couple of hours if you want to see everything. It was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Safari705274
Very Interesting

If you've ever wondered about the Amish, and how the Amish differ from the Mennonites or Hutterites... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
dlynch913
,
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Read all 297 reviews
  
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
214
68
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
68
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tornado room better understanding self guided amish history informative place guided tour gift shop questions answered interactive displays learning experience great place to learn non profit short movie united states two hours visiting shipshewana staff was very friendly
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of information make sure to plan on a couple of hours if you want to see everything. It was an extremely nice museum and really liked the way it was setup. Will go again because we needed more time to read all the material.

Thank Safari705274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you've ever wondered about the Amish, and how the Amish differ from the Mennonites or Hutterites this is a good visit. Unfortunately we arrived at 4:15 pm & they closed at 5:00, so our tour was cut short due to that. The tour should last 1.5 hrs, so be sure to arrive in time to get the entire tour. Our tour guide (a Mennonite) was very informative & friendly.

Thank dlynch913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We truly enjoyed the Menno-Hof information center. We learned so many things we did not know about the Amish and Mennonites. The whole experience takes about an hour and a half or so and was very informative and the guides were super nice and knowledgeable. It was very enjoyable for my wife and I. We highly recommend it

1  Thank davybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As others have mentioned, this is a very well done museum experience. You go from room to room but get to sit and experience that particular subject. It is a great way to run a museum, not much walking but certainly not lacking on information. The two gentleman who provided the tours were very information and answered all the questions tossed at them. Really, a great way to learn more about these interesting religions that most do not know much about. Would recommend a visit, the hour is well worth your time.

Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

This is an interesting place to visit. The tour was unique and very well done. Not much standing or walking was required.

Thank manningtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

This was a very nice presentation on the Amish - Mennonite - Hutterite lifestyle. We learned a lot about who they are, where they are from and what they believe. Well worth the price of admission. It turns out we share many core values with them.

1  Thank kerolacamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This is great lots of info and very nice tour guides. This is mostly a self guided tour with the guides meeting you a points to explain what you will be looking at.There are buttons at each display you can push and get info.You will enter the gift shop first and wpay and wait for the next guide.

Thank hstufforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We enjoyed visiting the Menno-Hof Visitor Center. It was well done and very informative, although the majority of it was slanted toward the Mennonite, with just a nod toward the Amish, tradition. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and part of the visit was self-guided. We spent nearly 3 hours there.

Thank dhardie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Not sure about what we would see in the museum , we were pleasantly surprised with the excellent "rooms" and videos that were presented. If you are a Christian this would be a "must see" place to visit. It removes any false impressions you might have about the Amish and Mennonites.

Thank etrkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Learn accurate information of the life and faith of the Amish and Mennonites in North central Indiana. Modest charge for a guided tour, several short video help tell the story. The tornado theater let you experience the power and destructive of a tornado and how the community comes together to help.

Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews