We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
179
83
20
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
83
20
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach swimming pool luxury cottage maintained garden love beach beach side seafood beach lovers relaxed vacation long weekend the cottages food taste awesome service sea view north kerala rooms are large coconut trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2022

Our experience of staying at the Premier Triple Room at the Malabar Oceanfront resort was pretty poor.

First things first - Though the resort website states that the Premier Triple room is beach-facing, it is not !. This particular cottage has neither the pool-view nor the beach-view. The attached foto gives an idea of what one can actually see from the balcony of the room.

The property is in a run-down state. The Air conditioner was not responding to the remote and many of the modes (like swing) did not work at all. The disturbance in the intercom was so loud and hence totally useless, that we ended up personally going to the reception/restaurant whenever we had anything. The WiFi was very weak and patchy in our cottage and hence could never be used. This is not the level of service and amenities that one would expect at the price point that they are charging. The activity room was also found to be in a shabby state.

On the positives - the beach is good and clean.
The food is also pretty good - but on fully booked days, you will not get most of the items on the buffet unless you turn up as soon as it opens. They were never found to be prepared for the number of guests that they have,

Having been to some of the nearby resorts, i would definitely consider Malabar Oceanfront resort to be a lot hyped up and not at all worth. i would give it a pass and avoid it permanently.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bijoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

The Malabar Ocean Front was a pleasant surprise for us. We visited this place during the long weekend of Vishu and Good Friday. The location is stunning with one of the best private access to the beach, luxurious rooms and excellent service by the staff.

PROs:
1. Quality of Rooms
2. Excellent staff - Very hospitable (Special mention to Ms. Revathy, Mr. Leon, Mr. Sarath, Mr. Sri Hanu, Ms. Baby)
3. Private beach. (Very clean and perfect for a swim - Waves are gentle, shore is not very deep)
4. Consistency of food quality.
5. No alcohol (Lets us actually enjoy our stay and explore the resort better )
6. Excellent Spa with Steam bath and Bathroom facility.
7. Location and Property (Excellent to take photos)

CONs:
1. Some food items in the food menu are available only after 7:00 pm.
2. No alcohol (Well definitely there would be guests who would want to chill and probably grab their drink on a holiday)
3. Pricing can be probably a bit less considering it's a Dry resort. (Say 10 to 15% less for accommodation & 20% less for Spa services). But definitely not a deal breaker.

Overall, one can visit this place for a couple of days and have a relaxing experience by spending time at the beach, spa, the pool and enjoy some good local cuisine.

Room tip: Avoid weekend rush. Stay midweek. No Alcohol served at the Resort.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank srinidhilkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabar Ocean Front Resort Spa, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa, Bekal !!!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.
We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. As you have highlighted, we are proud to get such a location. Thank you for mentioning everything in detail. It is feedback such as yours that inspires us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. we regret that you left dissatisfied with some points. Please do accept our sincere apologies. We look at every feedback as an extremely constructive one and I have taken on board the points given by you in the review The entire team is delighted to note that you found all aspects of your stay memorable.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2022 via mobile

To find a clean, yet peaceful place, North Kerala , to stay in middle of Pandemic was hard, but our choice to try out Malabar Ocean Resort was worth it.

Mr Leon and his team coordinated with us to provide the best experience.

Food was incredible, beach was kept clean and tidy. Privacy was never compromised and service was top notch.

We would definitely recommend the stay here in this resort and we wish to come back sometime in future.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Explore03285885698
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabar Ocean Front Resort Spa, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa, Bekal !!!
Thank you for taking your precious time out and reviewing us.
We are extremely happy to know that you found our accommodation comfortable and had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the nearest future for a better stay

Thanks And Regards Team Malabar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2022 via mobile

Overall it was a good stay with very well maintained resort and beach. Food, both Nonveg and Veg was really good. Variety of fishes is a must try. Entire staff is very polite. Cleanliness was good. Room Services I have not tried.
Like any other properties, your selected room view that you see on website may differ as they put only one room's view on net. But was ok. Bathrooms are not at par with the kind of resort but manageable.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 904abdulq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabar Ocean Front Resort Spa, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa, Bekal !!!
Thank you for taking your precious time out and reviewing us.
We are extremely happy to know that you found our accommodation comfortable and had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the nearest future for a better stay

Thanks And Regards Team Malabar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2022

It was a marvelous stay at Malabar Ocean Front Resort i really like the calmness and refreshing place with great dinning and people who look for a perfect holiday and especially the Arabian beach makes us so relax and i really love to visit again with family and friends. I relaxed my tough time here and felt so calm and light being at this wonderful paradise and staffs are helpful and caring as well overall I will give 5 star rating for this beautiful stay.

Date of stay: February 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaanuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabar Ocean Front Resort Spa, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022


Dear Guest,
Greetings from Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa, Bekal !!!
Thank you for sharing your pleasant experiences with us.
We are extremely happy to know that you found your accommodation comfortable and had a pleasant stay at our Hotel.
Thank you for mentioning everything in detail. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. The entire team is delighted to note that you found all aspects of your stay memorable.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Thanks And Regards Team Malabar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews