We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Nileshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The pros : Good Ambiance with the Sea in the Background, Good Hospitality and friendly staff. Good Therapeutic Ayurveda .

and cons : Room Service fails , food average needs more variety and more local flavor.
Place needs more maintenance , more insect control , lot of lizards in Dining Area .

Room Tip: Choose beach facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajesh1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having shared your feedback of your stay at our resort,
we are glad that you loved our hospitality,facilities and ayurvedha therapies,
we take your suggestions to add variety and local flavor to our cuisines is taken on a positive note and definitely would look into,meanwhile we do operate a sea food speciality restaurant on the beach from 15th October to 15th May,
we do pest control services on a routine however if there were lizards in the restaurant perhaps it would have been due to heavy down pour,and that our restaurant is an open restaurant,
we sincerely look forward to serving you again,
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

The Kerala architecture that greets u at reception is very calming and charming. We were booked in Luxurious room of the resort snd when we were taken to our room, we loved the location and aesthetics of the room. Room was vert spacious and well lit with a french window that directly opens to garden and further on sea. The bathroom was open to sky concept which was little uncomfortable initially. However, the room and view of sea compensated for that. One can sit on the chairs laid out on the verandah and just listen to the sea roaring!! The Resort is very well maintained where garden ends with stretch of land full of coconut trees, hammock, resting chairs and sand below your feet. and then starts 2 step beach which is clean and serene. One can spend ages sitting here just staring at sea and wondering on workings of mother nature. This is an ideal spot for kids who want to play with sand and build castles out of it. My kid sure enjoyed it.. Beach seems to be deep and its advisable if one doesn't venture out far in the sea. But this beach is ideal for long walks and a good read by beach.
I would like to point out to one drawback which is food especially for vegetarians like me. there were minimal options and we were forced to have a buffet dinner during our stay as they were not doing a la carte. But the staff were very courteous and took this feedback very graciously. The resort had a well maintained Gym, Swimming pool and a Ayurvedic spa. This place can guarantee that you will unwind and rejuvenate for sure!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shilpa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Shilpa,
Thank you so much for having shared the feedback of your stay at MOFRS on Tripadvisor
we are glad and happy to note that our facilities and services lived to your expectation in making your holiday with us a memorable experience,
you can venture into the sea but now because of monsoons the sea was a little harsh and deep but from end of October to May the beach is calm and it is flat unlike the two step now,
we are excited to know that your kid enjoyed the holiday making sand castles by the beach,
we sincerely look forward to serving you again,
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Malabar Ocean Resort is tucked away in a quite village by the sea near Kanhangad in North Kerala. It's about 8 km from Kanhangad Railway station. Check in was smooth and the staff was really friendly. The cottages and the resort is on the beach - almost like a private beach also because you wouldn't find many locals roaming around here. The cottages are well appointed with large sea view balconies. There's a fairly large swimming pool. Food was delicious. We had a great Old Boys' get together here and the place is ideal for such meets.

Room Tip: Facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunilNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Mr Sunil Nambiar
Thank you so much for having taken your time out to share the feedback of your stay at our resort on a forum like tripadvisor,as it would be helpful for us and guests who are looking to travel this side,
we are glad that our facilities and services lived to your expectations in making your Great Old Boys' get together a memorable experience,
we look forward to serving you again,
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

indeed a nice location. The resort is located right on the beach.Eventhough the property is modest in size, has been maintained clean neat and elegant. the cottages are luxurious and have a unique open bathrooms.
restaurant provides good food. However the food is priced a little on the higher side. Roomservice was quick.
we enjoyed our stay. The Manager Dinesh was kind enough to make our stay memorable. will certainly visit again

Room Tip: choose cottages facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clement62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Dr Clement,
Thank you so much for having taken your time out to share the feedback of your stay at MOFRS,
We are glad that our facilities and service measured to your expectations in making your holiday a memorable experience, we cook all food fresh and we assure the quality,
Thanks for your suggestion,
we look forward to serving you again,
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We booked 3 rooms there in a single cottage. every cottage has 4 rooms. they have 4 cottages. The major advantage of this property is its location. All the rooms are sea facing and it is like the private beach. As in this property, not many rooms are there, so you find any other people while playing on the beach. They have setup swings and volleyball courts on the sea shore.
But we were not very happy with the kind of service they provided. from this type of resort, we had higher expectations. let me give you few examples.
1. in one of the room, there were lighting issues. few lights were not working. and the cable network which they had was providing only few channels.
2. There were lots of mosquitoes in the evening time.
3. we need to call many times for the assistant to come.
in spite of all these, we had a great time. As children enjoy on the beach and in the swimming pool which is very well maintained.

Room Tip: choose the first floor room and not the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank navin_2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having opted to spend your holiday at MOFRS,
we are glad that our facilities measured to your expectations in making your holiday especially for children a memorable experience except for few things mainly the Ceiling light in one of the rooms ,my colleague was saying he had advised you to shift the room,as we did not want to do maintenance of the lamb as you were staying,but you did not want to shift the room,secondly the cable is having almost 300 channels,finally the mosquitoes due to monsoon yes there are some in the evenings ,for which we are doing fogging and necessary pest control measures, we do advise the guests to keep the large windows of your rooms closed between 6.30 to 07.30 pm which way you can keep them away from your rooms.there are anyway no harmful mosquitoes in this part of the world,
we sincerely look forward to hosting you again,
Warm Regards,
Dinesh kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nileshwar
0.6 km away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
125 reviews
20.9 km away
Taj Bekal Resort and Spa, Kerala
23.3 km away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
125 reviews
2.7 km away
Gokulam Nalanda Resort
Gokulam Nalanda Resort
#2 of 2 in Nileshwar
105 reviews
0.9 km away
Neeleshwar Hermitage
Neeleshwar Hermitage
#1 of 11 in Kasaragod
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa

Address: Ozhinhavalappu Post | Nileshwar Via, Kasaragod Dt., Nileshwar 671314, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Nileshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nileshwar
Price Range: ₹ 6,559 - ₹ 16,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa, you will find a perfect private and peaceful place for your vacation in Kerala. Our spacious rooms, with private balconies, offer panoramic views of the turquoise waters of the Arabian Ocean or the lively outdoor space. The Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa offers 14 spacious cottages overlooking the ocean with luxurious interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Agoda, Expedia and TravelGuru so you can book your Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing