We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Abe Martin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abe Martin Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed at the Abe Martin Lodge twice in July 2008. Our main reason for going was to try out the new indoor waterpark. The indoor waterpark is not as big as you might imagine but was the perfect size for us. It has a wonderful water slide, a small lazy river, an area for volleyball and basketball and also a nice hot tub. It has a shower outside by the hot tub but the water does not get warm at all. The staff seems to still be learning their jobs at the waterpark. But it was fun. And that was why we returned again.
Our first room was 116. When we went in the room my daughter saw a wasp. We went to the front desk and they had maintenance come and he swatted the wasp. We went to the gift shop and came back later and noticed several more wasps. So we went to the front desk and they took the room out of service and gave us room 107. Room 107 has a big patio window and the window is newer with less likelihood of pests getting in it. And we did not see any more bugs in this room. The rooms are in big need of updating. The furniture, carpet,, etc, are old and showing wear. The bathroom is very tiny and in big need of updating with very little space at all to put anything. I believe the bathrooms in the annex may be a little bigger since it is newer. We did have a lovely view from this room of the courtyard. I would suggest you ask for one of these rooms instead of a room facing the outside of the building. The annex is now attached by a walkway that goes around the new pool. You used to have to go outside to get from the annex to the main lodge. So that is a nice improvement.
The staff at the front desk, especially one man, were very nice and helpful. I did however have a problem. I left a pair of shoes here on the first visit. On the second visit I asked about them and they had not been reported. I asked the maid when I saw her and she said she did remember my shoes and that she had turned them in. But somehow no one seemed to know anything about them and I never did get them back. That seemed a bit odd to me.
The food is not that great in the lodge on the buffet. Go to town and eat. They usually only have the buffet and just a few items on the menu. Not once did we get the full menu for dinner. But the food off the menu was good. The buffet is expensive, but you can just get soup and salad. Dessert is not much at all on the buffet, unlike Spring Mill State Park. Spring Mill has fantastic foods on their buffet with lots and lots of good pies, cakes, etc for dessert.
The town of Nashville is a great place to eat and to shop. During the week, the Artist's Colony downtown has a wonderful early bird special.
The park itself is beautiful. It is the closest you will get to anything like mountains in Indiana.
I think the lodge has great potential. I do have to question why they spent all this money on the waterpark when the rooms are in such need of renovations.
The little housekeeping cabins near the lodge are very inexpensive, but I noticed the windows aren't great on these at all and I would not be surprised at all if they had problems with bugs, wasps, etc...maybe even mice. I even noticed one screen popping out that had not been repaired.
Yes I would stay here again. But they do need to work on some of these problems. Most of the staff is wonderful. And the area is so beautiful and the park itself a slice of heaven.
The Comfort Inn in town offers beautiful spacious rooms with huge bathrooms and is just a short drive to town. If going to Nashville just to visit the town, I would suggest the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 423 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2008

We stayed 2 nights in a patio room which cost $116 per night with tax. The room was cozy with a king size bed (that was comfortable), rustic furniture, a small refrigerator and a decent tv set (although channels are limited). The bathroom was a let down as it was quite small with only a tiny shelf above the sink that could barely handle my curling iron with any other item. We had two comfortable adirondack chairs in front of our room on the patio (which you share with 6 other patio rooms). The lodge has a brand new water park indoors which looked very appealing for those with kids - the patio rooms face the outside windows of this new addition. The internet connectivity was non-existant in our patio room and we had to go to the main lounge which was right beside the router in order to connect. This was another let down, but at least we were able to get online. We mentioned this to the front desk, and they did not seem surprised and told us to use the lounge. We noticed many other people carrying their laptops to this area to and we can only assume that they too could not connect from their respective rooms. Good free coffee is available 24/7 and we were told free hot chocolate is available at the front desk if you ask. The front desk staff were pleasant.

Now the absolute biggest complaint I have is the food - it was abysmal. We only had the buffet on the first night of our visit, and that was enough for us to judge just how poor the restaurant here was. I see that other reviewers had this horrible fare too and wish I'd paid more attention to them as they were spot on. In fact, the only meats on the buffet on a Wednesday night were fried chicken, pork ribs, and something that looked like some kind of chicken with a pasta of some sort. The fried chicken was cold, the ribs were too tough to cut let alone chew, and the indistinguishable chicken and pasta was a tasteless affair that would have been better left in the kitchen. The potato soup tasted like milk and flour and lacked any other flavor. The desserts were non-existant except for what appeared to be hot peaches in a crust at the end of the buffet where the meats were. I did have a decent salad that I constructed with the typical salad bar items which did appear fresh and were good. We did complain to our waitress who did bring some "fresh made" fried chicken, but the pieces she brought were only luke warm and we mentioned that to her - she said she'd let the kitchen know. On the way out we asked to talk to a kitchen manager in order to let them know just how poor the food was and she appeared to feel bad and said she'd talk to the kitchen too. She removed one of the $14 buffets from our bill, which really did not compensate for our indigestion and hunger which followed but was appreciated none the less. Anyway, there is a subway sandwich shop not far and they made us a good sub later.

The Brown County State Park is huge and there is a lot to do if you are looking for outdoorsy fun. The trails looked nice and well laid out and the nature center was interesting too.

Since we had plans to really explore Nashville and enjoy the tourist town, we probably should have booked something in the town (2 miles away).

Nashville is a quaint tourist town and we'll probably visit again although next visit, we'd probably stay at a local hotel that has internet and is close enough to walk to the assortment of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

This resort is the perfect example of letting state employees run a business. The hotel end was mediocre compared to privately run hotels, but the food and beverage operation was horrible. Totally incompetent management in the kitchen. They ran out of food at nearly every meal, the meals were completely out of cans, with the exception of the soggy fried biscuits. The catering for our conference was completely incompetent. The Executive Chef is in totally over his head. The whole operation should be outsourced to a professional private business.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

The cabins looked nice when we arrived the place was clean.
The beds are all shot the furniture is shabby.
After driving 400 miles and paying 200.00 a night you would think that the park system of Indiana could do better.
The next morning we found swarms of bee's trying to enter the side of the cabin , carpenter ants all over the house , and we killed around 6 wasps in the cabin.
Never again , the state of Indiana should be ashamed of this place.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowwhatcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Stayed here over the weekend to enjoy the perfect spring weather and wildflowers and could not be happier.( FYI Abe Martin was a satirical hillbilly newspaper comics character from the early turn of the (last) century penned by an Indiana artist.).

The lodge is clean and rustic, has a comforting woody smell and sits in the middle of the enormous Brown County State park- ($5 entry fee at the gate, for reentry use your room key)

The room was the perfect blend of comfort and quaintness with a quilted beadspread and wooden furnishings. A small TV is included. The building is large with lots of animal skins, big comfy chairs, fireplaces and interesting historical displays. Take the time to explore.

You absolutely must check out the Nature Center- it has great nature displays for kids along with a functioning bee hive and wild bird observation feeders. Very cool.

Hiking trails 1, 2 and 3 are right behind the lodge along with the horse corral where you can get 1 hr ($25) and Half Hour ($15) trail rides with a wrangler. Pony rides available for the kiddies.

The food at the Little Gem restaurantwas good and hearty and it seems they do alot of buffets. The prices for food were embarrasingly cheap.

I think I paid $90 for the night, a total bargain. You can't lose with the Abe Martin lodge!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
3.1 km away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
369 reviews
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
202 reviews
2.5 km away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
460 reviews
1.4 km away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
1.6 km away
Creekside Retreat Lodging & Gatherings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe Martin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe Martin Lodge

Address: SR 46 East, Brown County State Park, Nashville, IN 47448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: ₹ 3,057 - ₹ 7,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe Martin Lodge nestled in the hills of Brown County State Park, has 84 guest rooms, new indoor aquatic center, gift shop, two lobbies, one with a fireplace, 20 housekeeping cabins, 56 rustic cabins and rustic dining room open daily. The lodge has beautiful outdoor verandas overlooking the sloping back lawn, park and the hills. The Lodge truly has accommodations to meet any need, with ample meeting rooms for business meetings, reunions, weddings, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abe Martin Hotel Nashville
Abe Martin Motel
Abe Martin Lodge Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing