We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated Rooms - Needs Work”
Review of Abe Martin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abe Martin Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Jeffersonville, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outdated Rooms - Needs Work”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Room and fixtures hadn't been updated in 20+ years. carpet a little sticky. bathroom fixtures ancient. very small tub and bathroom. The bedspread and pillow shams hadn't been washed in a long time! I asked the front desk to give us some clean pillowcases to cover those pillows and gave them the soiled shams. The shams looked like a greasy-headed traveler slept on them. Disgusting! Plastic furniture. No Coffee pot, fridge or microwave in room. To get coffee, you had to go to the first floor and get it from a machine. Very bad coffee. "Water park" very small and crowded. lacking drainage on the floors. puddles everywhere. I stay in State Park lodges often, and this was the least pleasant experience yet. Check in was VERY slow. seems they didn't know what they were doing. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    152
    81
    36
    29
See reviews for
225
83
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evansville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Four couples met at Abe Martin Lodge on April 23rd for a high school reunion of the men in the group for 3 days--Class of 1963. Every couple was pleased with the Annex rooms except our bathroom looked worn out but clean. We were very pleased with the food in the main dining room--very reasonable prices and the food had ample servings and was very good!! Nobody complained about the food. All front desk staff was helpful and friendly on every shift. All of our rooms were clean. The Water Park was very impressive but we didn't use it. We really enjoyed the game/TV room located near the conference area. Plenty of comfy sofas and 3 table to play board games on. We all played Sequence both nights. We plan to return next year to repeat.

Room Tip: Ask for an Annex room. Fourth floor is very quiet. We were in 411.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I co-organized a small (around 45 people) academic conference at Abe Martin in April 2012. The staff were polite, helpful, and cheerful (even on occasions when they seemed pretty overburdened). The Melodeon Hall is a large, attractive space with mega-vaulted ceilings. As such, the acoustics were better for the presentations than for group discussions. The Allison Peabody Room is a lovely, smaller space that was perfect for our group size on the two days we had it.

The food was tasty and and offered up in large quantities. The equipment (lcd projector, microphones) worked fine and was easy to set up.

Our participants all stayed in lodge rooms. My own room was clean and pleasantly appointed. There are pleasant common lounge areas, a lovely courtyard garden, and a large attractive "back yard" for congregating informally.

The facilities do not compare to a luxury hotel or a business hotel. Nor do the costs. It is important to keep in mind that this is a lodge in a state park. The surroundings are lovely, the space and facilities were not luxurious, but were perfectly suited for our small conference, and it was VERY affordable.

I would highly recommend this venue for a similar event.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms near the courtyard have a lovely view and are near pleasant common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prof_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We reserved a Rustic Cabin Room in April 2012. After unloading our stuff from the car we noticed mouse poop on the nightstand by the bed. I decided to do a flashlight inspection of the room and found mouse poop in every corner of each room and a concentration in the closet with partially eaten acorns. I also noticed an open space in the flooring in the closet big enough for a mouse or snake to enter. We loaded our stuff back into the car and headed back to the registration desk. The attendant told us the mouse poop must have got there just after the room was cleaned, which was incorrect, unless the room had not been cleaned since last year. She also said, "you are in the country so there could be mice." Our home is in the country also, but we don't live with mouse poop and mice running freely in our home. We did end up getting a room at the Inn which was much nicer and clean. So far we haven't been charged the extra amount.

Room Tip: Don't do Rustic Cabin Rooma at Abe Martin Lodge unless you examine them first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nashville hotels

Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We checked in to the only room available which was a rustic cabin during spring break week. The pool area was nice however there were not enough lounge chairs, our cabin had a musty odor but seemed very clean. We went to bed but were startled awake by mice! There were mice in our cabin! Needless to say we did not sleep very well through the rest of the night. When we checked out the next morning I told the front desk about the mouse problem but she acted like it wasn't a big deal. She didn't offer me a discount or even an apology. I will never stay in the rustic cabin again but may consider staying in the main lodge sometime in the future, hopfully the rooms in the lodge are rodent free. It wasn't worth $80 a night to stay in a mice infested cabin!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
3.3 km away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
318 reviews
3.5 km away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
120 reviews
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
432 reviews
4.3 km away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
2.2 km away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#3 of 24 in Nashville
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe Martin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe Martin Lodge

Property: Abe Martin Lodge
Address: Brown County State Park, Nashville, IN 47448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,041 - ₹ 7,052
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe Martin Lodge nestled in the hills of Brown County State Park, has 84 guest rooms, new indoor aquatic center, gift shop, two lobbies, one with a fireplace, 20 housekeeping cabins, 56 rustic cabins and rustic dining room open daily. The lodge has beautiful outdoor verandas overlooking the sloping back lawn, park and the hills. The Lodge truly has accommodations to meet any need, with ample meeting rooms for business meetings, reunions, weddings, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abe Martin Hotel Nashville
Abe Martin Motel
Abe Martin Lodge Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing