We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
9
27
21
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
27
21
9
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Pity about this - it's in a beautiful part of the world, so I suppose when people discover Central Portugal the economy of the area will improve and this 4 star hotel will make an effort. Basically a conference centre - looks great from the outside, but no sense of welcome or warmth inside - and you have to pay for the spa stuff, which is quite expensive, even as a resident. Just struck me a being a bit like that hotel in The Shining, but without the atmosphere - better places to stay - we should have gone to Tipping Tipis nearby. I hope it gets better

Room Tip: It's alright - just wish I could say more good things - the area is fantastic! All the rooms seems much of a muchness
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Used as stopover on our way from the Algarve to Santander.
The hotel was easy to find and looked very smart but was somewhat lacking in atmosphere.
The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed.
Very spacious bar and reception area. Wi-Fi good .
Restaurant was comfortable with a very good value buffet dinner at €15 although the male waiter had undergone some sort of personality bypass.
The buffet breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
Overall a good stopover hotel.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank AnthonyDobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

This is a great hotel, very confortable and practically new.

Not near any big cosmopolitan city, it's close to alot of historical villages and near Serra da estrela ( in winter you'll get snow).

You must visit the surrounding castles and historial villages like Sortelha and Monsanto.

The hotel has WiFi for free, a great breakfast and a fantastic pool and spa, which is not free.

Away from big cities, its no e Palace to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlos_Jorge_Santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2014

We spent the night in this hotel in a +spa package. Given the low occupancy rate (due to the winter season and location - not located in any major route) we were basically the only guests around, which was strange at first but didn't cause major issues. The room was very big, modern looking, the bed quite comfy. The spa part was pretty good, and since we basically had all the facilities to ourselves, we made good use of them. Dinner was included and quite tasty, and breakfast was adequate. As we stop by the area often, we would consider returning.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aish_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

If you want to stay in Penamacor - and a nice little place it is - then you have no other choice, as this is the only hotel. It is new and clean, with grounds and plenty of accommodation, the sort of place where you may often have wedding receptions at weekends. Otherwise you will find a room easily, and at a very reasonable price. Importantly, you will get a good night's sleep and a perfectly adequate breakfast in the morning. The service was good. The town itself is two minutes' drive or a stiff ten-minute walk - or rather climb. In general this is a good hotel. I would not quite rate it as very good, but rather a three-and-a-half star category. It's certainly more than just average.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The_Real_Sylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews