We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
597
108
37
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
108
37
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden tour babel restaurant farm shop wine tasting farm to table pizza night working farm fruit trees fresh produce amazing garden cape town bedroom cottage olive oil the cottages spa treatments world class this wonderful place
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Warm day in Cape Town. Cool air conditioned wine tasting was superb. The gardens and the shop were fun and peaceful. Worth the drive from town. Take a long walk through the olive trees. Bought wine as they were well priced and delicious. Beautiful views of the mountains made it even more worth the drive

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizelazarus, Guest Relations Manager at Babylonstoren, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Colin

Thank you for taking the time to share your Babylonstoren experience with us. Remember about our online shop when you feel like having some more delicious wine!

Farm greetings,
Lize and the Babylonstoren team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful place! A huge garden with all kinds of vegetation. Chickens running around and beautiful nature. A true gem to visit just for a stop by if you are in Franschoek or Stellenbosch. You can walk in the gardens, have dinner or check in at the hotel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Karina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizelazarus, Guest Relations Manager at Babylonstoren, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Karina

Thank you for this lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Farm greetings,
Lize and the Babylonstoren team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Again and with no exaggeration, we can not give enough thanks for the splendid afternoon my wife and I spent at the Babel restaurant on the 31st of March 2018 (Easter weekend)
Charming welcome, being recognized by previous member of staff, being given a choice of table is a touch that all restaurants must adopt.
We particularly would like to thank the manager on duty, Adele for her professionalism and attention to details, also Chester, Bronwin, the two people who attended our table.
Our warmest regards also goes to Alande, this charming lady will never forget a face, no matter how long it has been since you last had a meal there.
Thank you for the food presentation and the flowers.
Being there on Easter weekend, we truly appreciated the magical touch of having presented on all the tables a nest with eggs of different colours, and having to guess which ones were made of chocolate.
Babel, the Bull or the Cow, same quality service and attention to details.
Thank you, will be back again soon.

Mr and Mrs Moe

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Moe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizelazarus, Guest Relations Manager at Babylonstoren, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Mr and Mrs Moe

You warm up our hearts with your kind words! Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us; we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Farm greetings,
Lize and the Babylonstoren team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed in a Farmhouse suite for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience - expansive lawns, nature on your doorstep, the salt-room, sauna and steam-room, as well as stylish & spacious interiors, an added plus. Bicycles available to explore the farm at large - good to have some exercise to work off the delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners on offer. We ate at the Bakery and Babel and all was top notch - presentation is different to most other restaurants, and this adds to the allure. The Garden Tour was informative and entertaining, and helps one explore thereafter from a more knowledgeable platform. The FarmShop and butchery were great. Kudos go to Trompie and his family for capturing my heart, and to Christo for playing 'donkey whisperer' to settle Trompie back into living quarters with his son Morne - too sweet (although he gave us a sleepless night with his braying). Babylonstoren is an upmarket destination but worth the cost for special occasions.

Room Tip: Cottages could be chilly in cooler weather - the Farmhouse suites are sunnier, in my opinion
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonK1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizelazarus, Guest Relations Manager at Babylonstoren, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Alison

Thank you for taking the time to share your Babylonstoren experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed a memorable time with us on the farm.

Best wishes,
Lize and the Babylonstoren team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

A popular day trip is the wine region just 40 km from Cape Town. The Stellenbosch wine route has more than 150 wineries. We drove to Babylonstoren and were amazed at this beautiful winery. This winery has 2 restaurants, a garden spa, garden tours and a bakery. When we went to the tasting room we were amazed.The tasting room with its glass windows overlooking the vines was so picturesque. After our wine tasting we purchased a bottle of Babel which is a blend of 5 red wines. It was delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Retired_teacher_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizelazarus, Guest Relations Manager at Babylonstoren, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Happy to hear you had a delicious time with us!

Best wishes from the farm,
Lize and the Babylonstoren team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews