We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but Clean and Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Madison
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but Clean and Good Service”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Holiday Inn Express at Madison is outside of the main, historic district, but it is just a straight shot downtown that takes maybe ten minutes. Our king room was very nice, with a large bathroom and it seemed extra clean. The pool and exercise rooms were well-maintained and the lobby was very cozy. The breakfast did not have a great variety and especially lacked the fresh fruit we like (except for bananas) and the eating area was small. One computer was available to the public and it sat right out in the lobby area, in the way of foot traffic. The desk clerks were extremely helpful and professional. We thought it overpriced, but rooms were scarce due to several big events going on that weekend, so it was the going rate for the time. Although we were very pleased with the hotel, we would probably check rates at a few other places if possible next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dikline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    33
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
30
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
255 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Okay...so this was the third Holiday Inn Express we stayed at this summer. And it was the worst. When we arrived...the desk clerk was outside with some friends smoking. We went in and waited. NOW she saw us go in. A man was also waiting. He went out and got her. This should never happen. Many of the people staying here were workers for the Markland dam project. As Priority Award Members...we received nothing. Some hotels give you an upgrade or some snacks or something. The pool was tiny and one night totally crowded by one family and in dire need of a new liner. The breakfast was a lot less food than the other Holiday Inn Express hotels we stayed at. Now the rest of the front desk people during our stay were much friendlier. Our room was tiny. It was a room with a jacuzzi tub...which pretty much took up the whole bathroom and made it very crowded. And the room had very little space at all. I was so disappointed we did not stay at Clifty Falls State Park. That hotel looks amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was photographing an out of town wedding, and the family booked a block of rooms in this hotel. It was absolutely clean - beds, bathroom, halls, lobby, dining area, pool. The staff was SO sweet and helpful. Polite and genuine. It appears to have been very recently and tastefully remodeled. It's a great location, at least for where we needed to go. About 10 or so minutes from the adorable historic district, and maybe 15 or so minutes from the b&b in KY where we were photographing. We had a really lovely stay. What you would expect from a HI Exp, probably a little better. The breakfast was standard HI fare, not luxiourious or gourmet, but hot and filling. It was great to have a nice sized fridge in the room, and there was also a microwave and coffee pot. There was a flat screen TV and a comfy chair & ottoman.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquamarine750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here last year in August for a anniversary weekend getaway. We stayed in a whirlpool suite on the fourth floor and was very very nice. It had a king bed and nice little area with microwave and fridge. The bathroom had a nice sized shower that had a supersized shower head on it and you can set the temperature of the water. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant in the mornings was always nice and hot and enough to choose from and fill you up. Will defintly go there again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbeining74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Very standard HIE with the difference being the people. Always properly friendly, not artificial.
Property is always clean and well maintained.
Breakfast is always on time with breakfast staff working silently to assure everything works.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
7.1 km away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.6 km away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
26.4 km away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
36.9 km away
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
#1 of 6 in Scottsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Madison? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Madison

Property: Holiday Inn Express Madison
Address: 300 Franks Dr, Madison, IN 47250-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,492 - ₹ 13,563
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit the historical town of Madison, Indiana! You will find an assortment of historical buildings scattered throughout the town. With the Ohio River running right by town, Madison is great for weekend getaways and family vacations. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, sausage, gravy, bacon, scrambled eggs, omelets, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll.Experience Madison, Indiana with the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites! Nearby attractions include: Argosy Casino, Belterra Casino, Caesors Casino, Grand Victoria Casino, Friendship, Kentucky Speedway, Clifty Falls State Park, Madison Regatta, Ribberfest Chataqua, and the Madison Folk Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Madison Hotel Madison
Holiday Inn Madison
Madison Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing