We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
38
18
9
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
18
9
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops twin room hanbury hall two courses on arrival old building top class pudding lovely room good nights sleep my partner vernon meal portions bath emma pub
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night on our way to Devon as it broke the journey up. Originally we had booked a room elsewhere however due to an administration error via booking.com we ended up here. At the time of booking there was only a twin room left at £80 so we took that rather than being without a room.

Good things: cannot fault the staff - friendly welcoming and helpful, the food in the restaurant was also lovely. Beds were comfortable.

Bad things: room was TINY. Space between the beds was unhoovered, bathroom was not especially clean, pubes in the shower when we arrived, tea tray was dirty. Only one glass in a twin room. The lampshade was also cracked and broken.

We have stayed in hotels for half the money this cost us that were cleaner and more well laid out. More attention to detail is required as corners were shabby, there was also a cobweb in the shower. Other rooms may be better (and not directly on the main road) but ours definitely has room for improvement

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jamaicangingercake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

had a lovely lunch today with my brother.first class food but what impressed the most,was our waitress ,very professional with good customer skills, even though she was rushed off her feet she still insisted on bringing our coffees outside for us.Its the small things that make a difference.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank saltway_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

The staff are really nice, the location and building is lovely but the food has gone down hill, Presentation and portion poor, over use of the frozen garden peas to fill a plate, a few more chips would be nice and a bit more care on the presentation would be appreciated. Nice enough but not nice enough to rush back.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We spent 3 nights at the Vernon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. We stayed in room 4, which despite the heatwave was still cool enough to get a good nights sleep. We ate at the Vernon every night and the food was really good. There is a bar menu and restaurant menu, so lots of choice. All the staff were very friendly which added to a good stay. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank janef12342016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Very comfortable rooms. Ask for a room away from the road for an even better stay. Every thing you want is there. The food is absolutely top class. It has a kitchen which you can watch your food being prepared (some restaurants hide theirs away for some reason). Service is of the top order too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ctpulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews