We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tasty Take on Cajun Cuisine in Downtown Indy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papa Roux

Papa Roux
Ranked #106 of 2,347 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Tasty Take on Cajun Cuisine in Downtown Indy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We came to Papa Roux expecting gumbo, shrimp po-boys, etouffee, and other traditional cajun items on the menu and were a bit surprised to not find any of it. Nevertheless, we were eager to try their take on cajun.

First, the lunch line was long (but quick), a good sign of popularity. Second, free unlimited sides (dine-in only) sweetened the deal and allowed us to sample the selection. Finally, the 10 or so po-boys come with vouxdoux mayo and house coleslaw, alone worth eating! The red beans, mushroom etouffee, and spicy garlick stew were also well done albeit could use a dash of hot-sauce.

I will return next time in downtown Indy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank candebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I decided to venture out to the East side of town for lunch this week and was pleasantly surprised by what I found. The place has a great vibeto it with a packed dining room an friendly staff. I tried the catfish Po boy, and the cajun stew. Both were well seasoned and huge portions, drinks and sides are included in the meal making it a great value. Beprepared to wasit a few minutes for a table during the peak times of day, but its well worth the wait. I'll be going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B8zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make the trip to their east side location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Close to the same sandwich in the city market but no unlimited sides, just one Dixie cup full of one (and their sides are really good!). Took forever to get my sandwich, I just don't think they are used to the small cramped area. Make the trip out to their post road location if your going to try them out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Incubedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun for your tongue !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

If you like Cajun ya gotta go here !!!!! The BEST Po-Boys on earth !!!! Daily specials and become a Facebook friend for (top secret) specials .... MMMMMMM Bacon !!! Eat in or carry out. Second location just opened Downtown in the City Market ..... haven't been there but it's on the list!

Papa makes GREAT use of Facebook for social media so be their friend on FB !

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank imageworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
325 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Best Cajun in Indy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Down home Cajun cooking is featured at Papa Roux, a small but go-to restaurant on Indy's far eastside. The entree menu seems to change daily, but that's part of the charm of this family-owned eatery. Their Po Boys are stellar - nothing compares to them in central Indiana. And the cornbread melts in your mouth and puts my grandma's recipe to shame. Don't forget that sides are unlimited. The seating fills up pretty quickly at the lunch hour, but you can eat outside during good weather.

A second Papa Roux has opened in downtown Indy, but they offer a more limited menu than the eastside location.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Roux also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Papa Roux? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing