We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best food, just wish I had not eaten beforehand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yats on College

Yats on College
Ranked #58 of 2,335 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 8
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best food, just wish I had not eaten beforehand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This place is so good. I tried samples of several things, including the gumbo and everything I tried was divine. I eventually settled on the chicken and beans and it was totally worthy. Hubby took forever to decide because he loved all of it. He also loved that they had a multitude of hot sauces to add to the food in case it wasn't spicy enough but it was perky enough for me. We are totally going back when next we go to Indy.

One important tip: this is a cash only place so make sure you hit the ATM first.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    49
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It is what it is...It ain't Cajun Creole”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The food is what it is. A good value for a lot on your styrofoam plate but to call this Cajun is a stretch. I have eaten here a few times and for what it is the flavor is ok but sometimes they are pretty heavy handed with the salt. If you have had a real Cajun family cook for you it is completely different from what this is. Real Cajun Creole food is much fresher and brighter and it all starts with a quality list of ingredients. Let's face that it is hard to fix quality fresh food so cheaply for the masses. I do agree with some of the reviews that most of the dishes are similar in taste/seasoning and can only image the food is in big vats in the back with no real chef or supervision. This could probably be mass produced, frozen, and franchised or sold next to the Swansons frozen foods at Kroger. That is not a dig just that the food has a following and it could be a successful marketing effort.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquaholick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

For the best cajun in the Midwest try Zydeco's 5 (featured on Food Channel's Diners, Drive-In's & Dives) in Mooresville it's worth the drive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The chli cheese etouffee is to die for. Wish I had the secret for their bread. Cheap and simple give every thing a try

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Storm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

The weather was beautiful, sat outside. The time was 12:30, food was fresh! The chilli/cheese étouffée with crawfish was excellent....best ever!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yats on College also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Yats on College? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing