We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stayed because pet-friendly hotels were limited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport
Ranked #135 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Only stayed because pet-friendly hotels were limited”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

I needed a hotel in the Indianapolis area that would allow dogs and the options were very limited so I booked a room here despite the reviews. Our stay was fine (despite the bad smell in the entryway), but not as other reviews mention it just wasn't very high quality. I would rather pay more for a nicer place to say, even for just 1 night.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CD_loves_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    12
    14
    21
See reviews for
20
10
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago vicinity
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My review from March, 2011 still, mostly, holds true. This is dog-friendly hotel close to the interstate that we've stayed at a few times during the past several years. We had no problems with the most recent stay although the room rate was bit higher. In March our room rate was < $75. At that rate the hotel value/quality was above-average. For the most recent stay, the rate was nearly $100. Summer rates perhaps? At that rate, though, the value/quality is just average.

I would stay here again, but I'm definitely going to check out other nearby options.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago vicinity
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The above caption pretty much sums it all up. We needed a cheap, dog-friendly hotel close to the interstate. We had stayed here about 2-3 years ago and had no problem with staying there again. Compared to other hotels in that price range (room rate + dog fee + tax < $75) it was above-average.

I really liked that I made an advance reservation asking for a specific type of room (because of the dog) and got a room that matched my request exactly. I didn't notice any problems with the cleanliness of our room or of the hotel grounds and everything in our room worked properly.

On the negative side, I thought the bed's comfort was so-so, but my wife thought it was rather uncomfortable. I skipped the breakfast buffet because there weren't any "healthy" options. Ironically, I went to "Long's Bakery" about 2 miles west on Southport Ave. I figured that if I was going to eat poorly, I might as well eat some fresh bakery donuts rather than store-bought boxed donuts.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My co worker and I called back in at the end of April to make reservations for our week long trip to Indiana for a work conference. We asked BEFORE we arrived if the rooms had microwaves, refrigerators, internet and a pool. The man we spoke with ( who had a thick accent so I am unsure of the name) was Mike or Nick. Anyways, I was told YES, they have those things. We booked the room.

On July 19th we arrived in Indianapolis and found the hotel. First of all, it's in the same parking lot as another hotel, the parking lot is awful. We parked and got our room. When we first entered the lobby, it didn't look ANYTHING like the beatiful photos on the website. We got our room key and went up to the room. First we noticed the smell, either moldy, or smoky or something. Then we noticed that there was no refrig. or microwave! The room wasn't the most pleasant, but we didn't stick around to find out anything more. We headed down to the lobby and asked about the microwave and refrig. They said they never told me the rooms had that and that there was nothing they could do about it. They said the King Bed room would have a microwave...but then I would have to share a bed with a co worker!!! Duh! Also, they would charge me more for the KING room.

I started calling other hotels. Thankfully, We found a wonderful, very friendly hotel that had a room for the week. We "checked out" 20 minutes after we "checked in" from Quality Inn. The only good thing is that they promised not to charge my credit card and as of now, ( 10 days later) they haven't charged it.

I would NOT recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frugalmommie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Beggers can't be choosers when you're traveling with pets, but when the Country Inn across the parking lot turned us away because of our dog (which we had mentioned in our reservation), this place worked fine as a backup. It's not the greatest motel, but it's was half the price of the Country Inn across the parking lot. And since all we needed was a bed for a stop-over, it worked fine. This is not a place I would recommend for multiple nights. But if you're looking for a bed right off the highway at the "Crossroads of America" it works.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianapolis
0.3 km away
Courtyard Indianapolis South
Courtyard Indianapolis South
#94 of 182 in Indianapolis
116 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Indianapolis South
Best Western Indianapolis South
#62 of 182 in Indianapolis
348 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
#16 of 182 in Indianapolis
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
#74 of 182 in Indianapolis
70 reviews
5.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Greenwood, IN
4.4 km away
Super 8 Indianapolis
Super 8 Indianapolis
#79 of 182 in Indianapolis
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport

Property: Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport
Address: 4345 Southport Crossings Way, Indianapolis, IN 46237-4648 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,060 - ₹ 8,828
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport is conveniently located off of I-65. Visit the Greenwood Mall, Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis Zoo, and Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Enjoy our newly renovated modern rooms and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Indianapolis - Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indianapolis Quality Inn
Quality Inn Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing