We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Polar express

Overall fun for my young kids ages 3 and 6. 1. Seemed very organized as it was incredibly busy... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mkfitzgerald
,
South Bend, Indiana
via mobile
A Great Experience with the Grandkids!

This was our first time taking the Polar Express. The staff was excellent! The actors stayed in... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
ccJHC16415766
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 270 reviews
  
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
89
79
58
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
79
58
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews polar express train ride north pole train robbery wizard of oz french stick singing and dancing minute stop served hot air conditioned cars dome car dark tunnel wild west show bought tickets pretty scenery lots of fun double decker
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

A small town railroad station converted into a railroad excursion venue. There is a private train with a unique executive car parked at the station. And a selection of French Lick railroad souvenirs within the structure. The museum is not on the site - directions to which are given.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Glumpeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

You ride 45 minutes viewing trees. They turn around & ride 45 minutes back past the same trees. I'm sorry but this was not exciting. Possibly in the fall when leaves are changing or one of their theme rides would be better. And the halfway point could have a nicer facility to stretch your legs. You do learn some history of the area & most of the crew are volunteers. Their survival depends on YOU.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Karly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I took our two pre-teen kids for an afternoon ride on the train. They did not have a theme going on when we traveled so it was just a ride to the 'station' and back. We opted for a dome car seat so we'd be able to see more but, like others have mentioned, there were a lot of trees. The tunnel was cool enough but the ride starts to drag on after a while. Fortunately you can get up and walk around so you're not isolated to your seat throughout the entire trip. They also have a drink/snack car so you can get a soda or beer and a bag of chips while in transit.

If it's hot I would recommend the 1st class seating over the dome because 1st class is downstairs where it stays cool. The dome is the second floor and the roof is glass so it got pretty warm and people were shuffling down the stairs to cool off.

I would not go back and ride again but was glad we did and glad we got to have the experience.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ANR_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Different times through the year they have special train rides.....Polar Express--Thomas the Train---Wizard of Oz. I have only been on the Wizard of Oz ride and it was awesome.....the kids and entertainers were amazing. The Polar Express is the most popular and reservations are a must.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank dino2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

You get to ride in a cool old railway care, but as far as a scenic trip, there wasn't anything to see except trees.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Naomi654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews