We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Do not stay here - problems cannot be resolved and management is not focused on guests” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Pakse
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Do not stay here - problems cannot be resolved and management is not focused on guests”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

I booked a full price room in the hotel ($159 - which for this property is high). For my money I recieved a room complete with a church choir.

I am not being cute - for roughly 3 hours, my room was innudated with chanting and yelling from a "Church" using the 2nd floor meeting room.

I called the front desk on 4 occassions and was told the church group had a right to worship and I apparently did not have a right to the peaceful enjoyment of my room on a Sunday evening prior to a Monday morning early meeting.

How foolish of me to expect a quiet room in a hotel free of loud religious preaching. I have no idea if these folks were Buddist, Hindu, Moslem, Christian or Jewish - or none of the above...whatever they were; they were very, very loud and yelled and stomped enough to shake my laptop on the desk in my room.

I have served my country and fought for the religious freedom of everyone. But that should not give you the right in a private commercial space to infringe upon my quiet enjoyement.

The hotel management and staff communicated quite clearly they did not care that I was disturbed. No offer of moving me to another room was ever made (hotel was quite empty - other than me and the religious folks).

So - while you may not encounter these exact folks - you will encounter a staff that does not care to assist you with your stay. And I do hope and pray that wherever you stay you do not encounter such intolerance for your desire to peacefully enjoy your room after a day filled with TSA :)

Verdict: Direction from Senior Management/Ownership at this hotel is so poor in customer service and consideration that you should not stay - anywhere would be better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pakse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Neely, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello,

Firstly thank you for coming and staying with us. We also appreciate your feedback, as it is the only way we can improve our staff and our product. I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay.

We hope that you return one day and give us the opportunity to do it for you the right way. as your satisfaction is most important to us.

Please accept our apologies; we hope to see you again!

Thank you & Warm regards,

-C. Neely
-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
22
9
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stay here for work whenever we are in town. The staff is great, the hotel is well kept. Clean and comfortable. Have never had any problems and we usually get 5 or more rooms at a time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

The hotel was clean and staff were nice but that's about the only good things about this hotel. The bed was so uncomfortable my back hurt for days following. They advertised a jacuzzi and when we arrived it was filled in with concrete. The breakfast was cold and gross. It was way overpriced for the ammenties that they listed and didn't have there. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trasfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elkhart hotels

Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2007

Pros: Hotel is clean, and has easy access. Staff was friendly.
Cons: Overpriced! There are many other hotels in the area with more for the money. The beds were unbelievably cheap and uncomfortable. The pool did not open until 10, and the hot tub was lukewarm with jets that did not work.

Bottom line: In a pinch it is clean and safe, but you could easily do better.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Overpriced and horrible beds
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Me3Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2006

This was an excellent property and I really enjoyed my stay here, even though I was on business.

My only gripe was the lack of wireless internet available in the room. Wired high-speed was available in the room, but I could not get it to work.

The hotel is very new and the staff did their job. The breakfast area is spacious and was well-stocked. The pool area was also nice (but I did not use it). The fitness room was nice to see, it had two treadmills and a stationary bike.

It is not the most convenient to Elkhart, but it near the intersection of 20 and 19 which gives you a nice middle of the road between Elkhart and Goshen.

The whirlpool room was actually cheaper ($115 versus $155) than a standard room and was a great. It had a king bed, chair with footstool, desk area, mini-fridge, sink, coffee maker, and of course the whirlpool.

The only negative in the bathroom is that it does not have the HIEX rounded shower curtain, but that's it. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TyleratCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#7 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
10.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
10.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
10.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkhart
10.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Elkhart North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South
Address: 58364 State Rd 19, Elkhart, IN 46517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,803 - ₹ 13,586
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart South is conveniently located near downtown Elkhart, IN. Our hotel features guest rooms on three floors, as well as, a beautiful pool and whirlpool for your enjoyment. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart South provides easy access to Amish Acres, Shipshewana, University of Notre Dame, South Bend, the Football Hall of Fame and much more! We have several guest room types that will accommodate your every need. Visit Elkhart, IN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Elkhart-South
Holiday Inn Elkhart
Elkhart Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing