We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds are a little lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Front desk man was nice, but the bed looked like a left over from a close out. Hotel is a bit out of town so going for food in the snow took a while.

Room Tip: Go to the north side of town. Lots of food and a lot more hotels
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear MCtravler,


Thank you for the feedback. We strive to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience here and greatly appreciate the feedback if they don't.
I do apologize that you felt the beds were uncomfortable.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

I am making reservations at a hotel in Elkhart this labor day weekend Sept 3-7, 2011 and for the holidays. My family lives in Elkhart. My last visit was December of 2010. It was the last of several stays at this particular Holiday Inn. I am a Platinum Priority Club Member because I travel frequently for business. This hotel by far is the worst hotel I have stayed in in this country and international. Stay somewhere else, stay away from this place. THE BEDS ARE VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND YOUR SLEEP WILL BE COMPROMISED.

Room Tip: No room has a comfortable bed. I have tried changing rooms and asking staff for help.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryD_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I am overall a big fan of the changes Holiday Inn Express made a few years ago with their King liesure rooms however this one felt like a cheap knockoff. I have been staying in cheaper rooms lately because it has gotten hard to find an Express room for under $100. The price was right this time but I regret my decision. The bed was hard. I felt every spring in that mattress. Everything else in the room was adequate just not what I have come to expect from the chain.

I missed breakfast by 3 minutes so I can't really comment (other than to say I was disappointed that they had cleaned up that fast).

Nothing to eat nearby except fast food.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raevenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I booked a full price room in the hotel ($159 - which for this property is high). For my money I recieved a room complete with a church choir.

I am not being cute - for roughly 3 hours, my room was innudated with chanting and yelling from a "Church" using the 2nd floor meeting room.

I called the front desk on 4 occassions and was told the church group had a right to worship and I apparently did not have a right to the peaceful enjoyment of my room on a Sunday evening prior to a Monday morning early meeting.

How foolish of me to expect a quiet room in a hotel free of loud religious preaching. I have no idea if these folks were Buddist, Hindu, Moslem, Christian or Jewish - or none of the above...whatever they were; they were very, very loud and yelled and stomped enough to shake my laptop on the desk in my room.

I have served my country and fought for the religious freedom of everyone. But that should not give you the right in a private commercial space to infringe upon my quiet enjoyement.

The hotel management and staff communicated quite clearly they did not care that I was disturbed. No offer of moving me to another room was ever made (hotel was quite empty - other than me and the religious folks).

So - while you may not encounter these exact folks - you will encounter a staff that does not care to assist you with your stay. And I do hope and pray that wherever you stay you do not encounter such intolerance for your desire to peacefully enjoy your room after a day filled with TSA :)

Verdict: Direction from Senior Management/Ownership at this hotel is so poor in customer service and consideration that you should not stay - anywhere would be better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pakse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Neely, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello,

Firstly thank you for coming and staying with us. We also appreciate your feedback, as it is the only way we can improve our staff and our product. I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay.

We hope that you return one day and give us the opportunity to do it for you the right way. as your satisfaction is most important to us.

Please accept our apologies; we hope to see you again!

Thank you & Warm regards,

-C. Neely
-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stay here for work whenever we are in town. The staff is great, the hotel is well kept. Clean and comfortable. Have never had any problems and we usually get 5 or more rooms at a time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
125.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
126.0 km away
Comfort Suites North
Comfort Suites North
#10 of 22 in Elkhart
69 reviews
136.0 km away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#11 of 22 in Elkhart
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
125.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkhart
125.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Elkhart
126.1 km away
Hampton Inn Elkhart
Hampton Inn Elkhart
#3 of 22 in Elkhart
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South

Address: 3610 S Nappanee Street, Elkhart, IN 46517-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range: ₹ 6,491 - ₹ 15,902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart South is conveniently located near downtown Elkhart, IN. Our hotel features guest rooms on three floors, as well as, a beautiful pool and whirlpool for your enjoyment. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart South provides easy access to Amish Acres, Shipshewana, University of Notre Dame, South Bend, the Football Hall of Fame and much more! We have several guest room types that will accommodate your every need. Visit Elkhart, IN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Elkhart-South
Holiday Inn Elkhart
Elkhart Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing