We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay”
Review of Wampler House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wampler House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Bloomington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Wampler House was exceptional in every way. It was very Quiet, clean, friendly staff and easy drive from downtown/university.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

What a wonderful place to stay in Bloomington! Clean, spacious, well-appointed rooms, wonderful breakfast, and best of all, the staff is so friendly! Diana really made us feel at home, from the accommodation of our late arrival, to the tour of the house, to the waters, teas and sodas available...it was a wonderful stay!! Thanks so much!! Mike & Tracy Hicks

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Clean, comfortable, quiet. Very good breakfasts with fresh fruit. Nice staff. Decor is not too frilly. Appreciated the candles, matches and other accessories in the bathroom with the whirlpool tub. But we found that our room (one of the suites) actually could have used more furniture. We had a king-size bed, but a nightstand with table lamp on only one side, so that arrangement was inconvenient for the other person to be able to read in bed, have a water glass or eyeglasses at bedside overnight, etc. Wall sconces behind the headboard would help with the reading situation at least. Also, free WiFi is available, but there was no desk or table and chair arrangement in the room for someone working at a laptop computer. We ended up just sitting on the bed with the computer. Also, the daybed area would have been more useful with a coffee table in front of it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stay at B&Bs as often as we can, and we were thrilled with our experience at The Wampler House! Not only does it have a fantastic history and has stayed in the family for generations, but it was extremely well appointed and immaculately clean. It smells wonderful, and even the towels are super fluffy and smelled great (many B&Bs can be dusty and musty, but not at all here). Unlike other B&Bs, they tidied the room each day, and we were even greeted with homemade cookies in our room. The breakfast was delicious, and they provided complimentary beverages 24/7 and cookies each afternoon. My favorite feature was the hammock strung between two large trees that created the perfect reading spot.

Room Tip: We had the least expensive room but it was still perfect for a couple and conveniently on the main f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Great staff, beautiful house. Breakfast was fresh and homemade. I come to Bloomington on a fairly regular basis and this is easily the best place I have stayed. Reasonable price and about 10 minutes away from campus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phenotex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
5.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
6.0 km away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
6.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
359 reviews
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
6.5 km away
Showers Inn
Showers Inn
#1 of 9 in Bloomington
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wampler House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wampler House Inn

Property: Wampler House Inn
Address: 4905 S Rogers St, Bloomington, IN 47403-4841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomington
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,022 - ₹ 13,477
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wampler House, Indiana University lodging. Our Inn is located in South Bloomington surrounded by woods and tranquility but only a 9 and a half minute drive from the Town Square or Indiana University. We offer the best in-room amenities in the area and feature a 2 course chef-prepared breakfast. Enjoy Hoosier Hospitality at it's finest! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing